Two Indian umpires in ICC panel for U-19 World Cup

Anil Chaudhary and C. K. Nandan have been included in the list of 14 umpiring officials participating in the tourney.

Anil Chaudhary (right) has officiated as an on-field umpire in 15 ODIs and 20 T20Is.   -  AP

Anil Chaudhary and C. K. Nandan, both from India, will be members of the 14-strong panel of umpiring officials for the U-19 World Cup, according to the International Cricket Council. The event, to be held in New Zealand, will begin on January 13.

Shaun George and Ahsan Raza will be the on-field umpires for the first match of the tournament, between West Indies and New Zealand, on the opening day at the Bay Oval in Tauranga. Robert Bailey will be the television umpire and Timothy Robinson the fourth umpire. David Jukes has been appointed the match referee for this match.

Read: Umpires take part in BCCI-organised DRS workshop

Umpire and match referee appointments for the knock-out stages will be announced after the teams have been confirmed.

West Indies will be looking to defend its title and emulate Pakistan, which won consecutive titles in 2004 and 2006. Australia and India have won the title three times each while England and South Africa are the other teams to have won the U-19 World Cup.

Read: Review our case, yesteryear umpires urge BCCI

The other teams participating in the 16-team tournament are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland, Kenya, Namibia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

  • Umpires: Robert Bailey, Gregory Brathwaite, Anil Chaudhary, Nigel Duguid, Shaun George, Shaun Haig, Mark Hawthorne, David Odhiambo, Buddhi Pradhan Ranmore Martinesz, C.K. Nandan, Ian Ramage, Ahsan Raza, Shozab Raza, Tim Robinson, Langton Rusere and Paul Wilson.
  • Match referees: Jeff Crowe, Devdas Govindjee and Graeme La Brooy.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :