21 young footballers earn RFYS scholarships

It is spread over four categories, junior boys, senior boys, college boys and school girls.

A glimpse from the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports National Football Championship in Mumbai.   -  THE HINDU PHOTO ARCHIVES

Twenty young footballers, including five each from Kolkata and Shillong and four from Chandigarh, have been shortlisted for the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports (RFYS) scholarships after the conclusion of RFYS National Football Championship in Mumbai earlier this month.

The scholarship has been spread over four categories, junior boys, senior boys, college boys and school girls. Even the All India Football Federation (AIFF) has backed the RFYS initiative. “The 20 players who have got the RFYS scholarships can be termed as some of the finest in the country in the youth category,” Kushal Das, General Secretary, AIFF said.

“They have come through an intense national-level competition that featured 4,400 schools and colleges and over 65,000 players across four age group categories. They have been discovered by RFYS’ extensive grassroots development programme, which the AIFF has encouraged all along. These 20 girls and boys will certainly be considered for further development in line with the AIFF youth development policy.”

The RFYS Scholars:

Junior Boys: Takhellambam Chingkheingakpa Singh, Kshetrimayum Suraj Singh (The Unique Model Academy, Imphal); Nazim Ali, Arpan Seth (both Gangadharpur Vidyamandir, Kolkata); Arjun Sharma (Minerva Public School, Chandigarh).

Senior Boys: Irshad Mohammad, Konan Kouame, Makan Chothe (all Minerva Public School, Chandigarh); Gaurab Das (Kapasdanga Satin Sen Vidyapeth, Kolkata); Stendly Fernandes (Rosary Higher Secondary School, Goa).

College Boys: Aditya Singh Rawat (Zakir Hussain, Delhi); Dibin MD (Baselius College, Kottayam); Vincent Das, Akash Mondal (both Netaji Nagar Day College, Kolkata); Damehun Syih (St Anthony College, Shillong).

School Girls: Marbarin Nongrum, Banrisha Wahlang, Nisilia Majaw, Wandashisha Mawrien (Umthli Secondary School, Shillong); Aswathi S Varma (Kadathanad Rajas Higher Secondary School, Kozhikode).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :