Bayern Munich secured a record-extending ninth consecutive Bundesliga title on Saturday without kicking a ball, after RB Leipzig's 3-2 defeat at Borussia Dortmund kept the Bavarians seven points clear with two games left for its rivals.

Celebrations, however, will have to wait until after its own game against Borussia Moenchengladbach later on Saturday, with Thomas Mueller and David Alaba becoming the first Bundesliga players to win 10 league titles.

Bayern, who has now won 30 Bundesliga titles since the introduction of the top division in 1963, and 31 German league crowns in total, are on 71 points. Leipzig stayed second on 64.

READ | Sancho double gives Dortmund win over Leipzig, hands Bayern Bundesliga crown

Dortmund's Jadon Sancho scored twice, including an 87th- minute winner to beat Leipzig, who has yet to seal its Champions League spot for next season.

Bayern enjoyed less success this season than its six-trophy winning run in 2019-20 but it remained the most consistent team in the league led by striker Robert Lewandowski who has netted 36 league goals.

The Pole is chasing Gerd Mueller's 1971-72 all-time league record of 40 goals in one campaign.

It is a second consecutive league crown for coach Hansi Flick, who is leaving Bayern at the end of the season and will be replaced by Julian Nagelsmann.