Brazil and Argentina avoid holder Chile in Copa America draw

Holder Chile will face guest Japan in the group stage of the 2019 Copa America, with Brazil and Argentina in Group A and B respectively.

Chile is a two-time reigning Copa America champion, defeating Argentina both times.   -  Getty Images

Brazil and Argentina successfully avoided Chile in the draw for the group stage of the 2019 Copa America.

Host Brazil has been placed in Group A, where it will face Bolivia, Venezuela and Peru.

Argentina landed in Group B with Colombia and Paraguay, as well as World Cup host Qatar, which has been invited to take part for the first time.

READ | Scaloni optimistic over Messi's Argentina return

Qatar's fellow guest Japan is in Group C alongside Ecuador, Uruguay and Chile, which is seeking a third consecutive triumph having beaten Argentina in the last two finals.

The 2019 tournament is set to run from June 14 to July 4, with Brazil trying to regain the Copa America crown it last won in the 2007 edition.

Copa America draw in full: 

Group A: Brazil, Bolivia, Venezuela, Peru

Group B: Argentina, Colombia, Paraguay, Qatar

Group C: Uruguay, Ecuador, Japan, Chile