Sancho among three new faces in England squad

Gareth Southgate has called up teenage Borussia Dortmund talent Jadon Sancho among a trio of newcomers to the England squad.

Published : Oct 04, 2018 21:31 IST

Borussia Dortmund teenager Jadon Sancho.
Borussia Dortmund teenager Jadon Sancho.

Borussia Dortmund teenager Jadon Sancho.

Jadon Sancho, Mason Mount and James Maddison have received their first England call-ups for this month's Nations League matches against Croatia and Spain.

Gareth Southgate announced a youthful 25-man squad on Thursday shortly after confirming the extension of his contract through to the 2022 World Cup.

Watford midfielder Nathaniel Chalobah and goalkeepers Alex McCarthy and Marcus Bettinelli are the other uncapped players included, while Ross Barkley has been recalled at the expense of Chelsea team-mate Ruben Loftus-Cheek.

READ | Southgate excited by 'brave' Borussia Dortmund teen Sancho

Much anticipation surrounded the potential promotion of teenagers Sancho and Mount following their fine starts to the season at Borussia Dortmund and Derby County respectively.

Maddison, 21, has also been rewarded for a series of influential displays with Leicester City, although Daniel Sturridge has been overlooked despite finding form for Liverpool.

Dele Alli, Fabian Delph, Jesse Lingard and Adam Lallana all miss the two Nations League fixtures through injury.

England visits World Cup finalist Croatia on October 12 before travelling to Spain three days later.



Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment