Juventus boss Allegri caught napping by Pjanic red card

Juventus appeared to be cruising to victory over Napoli before goalscorer Miralem Pjanic was sent off to complicate matters.

Published : Mar 04, 2019 08:03 IST

Juventus midfielder Miralem Pjanic
Juventus midfielder Miralem Pjanic

Juventus midfielder Miralem Pjanic

Massimiliano Allegri claimed he "fell asleep" during Juventus' dramatic 2-1 Serie A win over Napoli – making an error that almost cost the runaway leader victory.

The effects of a contest featuring two red cards and a missed penalty upon a raucous Stadio San Paolo crowd were anything but sedentary.

Miralem Pjanic opened the scoring with a sublime free-kick after Napoli goalkeeper Alex Meret was dismissed for a professional foul on Cristiano Ronaldo.

Emre Can doubled the visitor's advantage before half-time but Pjanic went from hero to villain as he collected a second yellow card for handball early in the second half.

Lorenzo Insigne crossed brilliantly for Jose Callejon to reduce the arrears but smashed an 84th-minute spot kick against the post as Juventus took another step towards an unbeaten Serie A season and increased its advantage at the summit to 16 points.

Speaking to Sky Sport after the match, Allegri lambasted himself for not taking Pjanic out of the firing line following his initial caution for a foul on Callejon.

"I fell asleep, I should have subbed him off after the first yellow," he said.

"The second caution for Pjanic made us lose control. We let Napoli back into the match and the stadium started believing again, even if we had a great opportunity at 2-1 that we wasted.

"Sixteen is an important margin but we need to wait for the maths [to guarantee the title].

"Now, let's rest and then head to Udinese and Atletico [Madrid]. We could have done better."

Good call

Despite some replays suggesting contact between Meret and Ronado was minimal, Allegri had no doubt the officials made the right decision in that instance.

"As people have told me, in this case it was a foul," he added.

"The intent was clearly there so I think it was a good decision. I think the referee did well overall." 

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment