Manipur defeats Odisha to clinch Women's National C'ship crown

Manipur had lost out in the final to Tamil Nadu in the last edition of the National Championships.

Manipur defeated Odisha 2-1 to clinch the Women's National Championship crown.   -  AIFF

Manipur claimed victory in the final of the 24th Senior Women's National Football Championships, defeating host Odisha by a 2-1 margin in Cuttack. The result marked the 19th occasion that the north-east state won the trophy.

In the semifinals, Manipur had got the better of the Railways team 4-3 in a penalty shootout as the match ended goalless after extra time. On the other hand, Odisha had defeated defending champion Tamil Nadu in a thrilling match that ended 4-3, with the host finding the winner in extra time.

READ: NEUFC holds FC Goa 2-2 in a see-saw battle

The final, held at the Barabati Stadium, was a nail-biting affair. After a tense start, it appeared as if the first half would end goalless but it was Manipur which took the lead thanks to captain Bala Devi, who found the net in the 45th minute.

Soon after the break, Irom Prameshwori Devi doubled her team's lead with a goal in the 50th minute.

The host continued to strive for a comeback and found a goal with nine minutes to play via midfielder Arati Sethi.

However, Manipur defended well and went on to lift the trophy.

  Dugout videos