Indian sports news wrap, October 8

Here are all the major updates and results from Indian sports on October 8.

Published : Oct 08, 2023 16:41 IST - 4 MINS READ

FILE PHOTO: Anish Thapa (right in red).
FILE PHOTO: Anish Thapa (right in red). | Photo Credit: MURALI KUMAR K/The Hindu

FILE PHOTO: Anish Thapa (right in red). | Photo Credit: MURALI KUMAR K/The Hindu


Anish, Jyoti emerge champions in Bengaluru Marathon

Anish Thapa of Services and Maharashtra’s Jyoti Gawate emerged as men’s and women’s champions on Sunday in the Bengaluru Marathon.

Thapa, who had earlier won the New Delhi marathon, stopped the clock at 2.18:06 seconds to win the title, while Services’ Akshay Saini (2.25:04) and Kuldeep Singh of UP (2.26:38) finished second and third.

Gawate (3:08:53), on the other hand, had to ward off a stiff fight from her state mate Ashvini Jadhav (3:09:00) to take the women’s title.

Maharashtra’s Prachi Godbole ended up in the third position with a timing of 4.13:17.

Vaibhav Patil won the men’s half-marathon clocking 1.11:50, while Bijoya Barman took the honours in the women’s section with a time of 1.34:39.



Sharmada, Prajwal to lead Karnataka tennis teams in National Games

Veteran Sharmada Balu and in-form SD Prajwal Dev will lead Karnataka’s campaign in the tennis competition of the 37th National Games to be held in Goa from October 30 to November 6.

The 30-year-old Sharmada had reached the quarterfinals of the recent Fenesta National Tennis Championship in New Delhi, while Prajwal finished runner-up in an ITF event in Thailand in June.

Karnataka had won a gold, three silver and four bronze medals in the last edition of the National Games held in Gujarat in 2022.

“Our players have trained rigorously and demonstrated exceptional skills at various National and international events.

“We have full faith in their abilities and are certain that they will make the state proud at the upcoming National Games,” said Maheshwar Rao, Secretary of KSLTA while announcing the team.

The state teams will undergo a training camp here before travelling to Goa.

SD Prajwal Dev, A Deepak, Rishi Reddy, Rashein Samuel, Kevin Suresh Titus. Reserve: Suraj R Prabodh.
Sharmada Balu, Suhitha Maruri, Soha Sadiq, Prathiba Prasad Narayan, Sai Janvi T. Reserve: Siri Manjunath Patil.

- Kamesh Srinivasan

National sub-junior championship seedings

The presence of national under-18 champion Aishwarya Jadhav and the boys runner-up Samarth Sahita signify the importance of the Fenesta National sub-junior tennis championship to be played at the DLTA Complex from Monday.

Aishwarya had beaten a string of good players on way to the under-18 title on Saturday. It will be interesting to see her progress in the under-16 event in which she has been seeded fourth.

The 14-year-old Samarth Sahita has been very impressive, and has done well to win ITF junior singles and doubles titles in recent weeks. He is seeded second behind Dhiraj Reddy.

Overall, it should be another week of lively tennis as the country’s best players have assembled to showcase their ability in the under-16 and under-14 events.

The seedings:
Under-16 boys: 1. Dhiraj Reddy, 2. Samarth Sahita, 3. Srikar Doni, 4. Swastik Sharma, 5. Arnav Yadav, 6. Panshul Uboveja, 7. V Thirumurugan, 8. Samprit Sharma.
Under-16 girls: 1. Riya Sachdeva, 2. Aakruti Sonkusare, 3. Yashika Shokeen, 4. Aishwarya Jadhav, 5. Diya Ramesh, 6. Nainika Reddy, 7. Divya Ungrish, 8. Sohini Mohanty.
Under-14 boys: 1. Hruthik Katakam, 2. Tavish Pahwa, 3. Rudra Batham, 4. Shivtej Shirfule, 5. Prakaash Sarran, 6. M Diganth, 7. Anurag Kallambella, 8. Prateek Sheoran.
Under-14 girls: !. Diya Ramesh, 2. Aleena Farid, 3. Aahan, 4. Prachi Malik, 5. Savitha Bhuvneshwaran, 6. Anandita Upadhyay, 7. Shaivi Dalal, 8. Aradhyaa Verma.

- Kamesh Srinivasan


Kochhar top Indian at tied 19th in Singapore

India’s Karandeep Kochhar fired a third straight round of 1-under 71 and finished tied 19th at the USD 2 million International Series Singapore here on Sunday.

He was the top Indian, as Spaniard David Puig walked away with a five-shot win.

He completed a stunning wire-to-wire triumph after firing a final round one-over-par 73 to finish the Asian Tour event on 19-under, with Jaewoong Eom from Korea finishing in second place, after carding a 69.

Honey Baisoya (70) ended T-44 while Veer Ahlawat (75) dropped to T-51 and Viraj Madappa (73) was T-59.

Kochhar saw all the action on the front nine with three birdies against two bogeys by the eighth hole and parred the remaining 10 for 71.

American Andy Ogletree took another step closer to securing both the Asian Tour and International Series Order of Merits by closing with a 69, which featured a hole-in-one on the par-three fourth, to finish in a tie for third with Thailand’s Poom Saksansin.

Puig had a nine-shot lead at the start of the day thanks to rounds of 64, 66 and 66 and was never challenged. He made the turn in one under with a birdie on eight, before a minor wobble with bogeys on 11 and 14. The 21-year-old had a six-shot lead playing 18, which playing partner Eom birdied.

The next event is the Macao Open which is being played for the first time since 2017.


Diksha 38th as rain forces cancellation of final day in the Aramco Team Seriesin Hong Kong

Diksha Dagar finished tied 38th as the final round of the event in Hong Kong had to be cancelled due to Typhoon Koinu at the Aramco Team Series here on Sunday.

Diksha, who is fourth of the LET’s Order of Merit, had rounds of 75-72 and the final round was abandoned as China’s Xiyu Lin clinched her third Ladies European Tour (LET) title after securing a playoff victory.

At the end of the second round on Saturday, there were two players tied at the top of the leader board on 11-under-par with Korea’s Jin Young Ko and China’s Lin.

Diksha now goes into the next event on home turf, at the Hero Women’s Indian Open at the DLF Golf and Country Club.



Nehru junior girls tournament results

Supriya slammed four goals in helping Naval Tata Academy, Bhubaneshwar, to a 8-0 victory over Pritam Siwach Academy, Sonipat, in a super-league match of the Charanjit Rai 29th Nehru under-17 girls hockey tournament at the Shivaji Stadium on Sunday.

The results (super-league):
Kiddy’s Corner HSS, Gwalior, (Palak Gupta 4, Sneha Patel 3, Huda Khan 2, Mitali Sharma 2, Pooja Kori, Saniya Syed, Shivani Bamaniya) bt Ghumanhera Risers Academy, Delhi, 14-0.
CM Excellent High School, Bariatu, Ranchi, (Roshni Aind 3, Leoni Hemrom, Sangita Kumari, Salomi Nag) bt Naharkatia HSS, Assam, (Ritu Sawri) 6-1.
Naval Tata Academy, Bhubaneshwar, (Supriya 4, Puja Ramchuuria, Anushka Bhawre, Sheetal Yadav, Drupati Naik) bt Pritam Siwach Academy, Sonipat, 6-0.
Punjab Institute of Sports, Bathinda, (Harjot Kaur, Kamaldeep Kaur, Mandeep Kaur, Amananeet Kaur) bt Government Girls SSS, Umra, Hisar, 4-0.

- Kamesh Srinivasan

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment