World Rugby announces the expansion of RWC: Rugby World Cup to have 24 teams from 2027

The Rugby World Cup will be expanded to 24 teams instead of 20 teams, World Rugby announced on Tuesday.

Published : Oct 24, 2023 17:46 IST , Cape Town, South Africa - 1 MIN READ

General view of the Rugby World Cup trophy.
General view of the Rugby World Cup trophy. | Photo Credit: REUTERS

General view of the Rugby World Cup trophy. | Photo Credit: REUTERS

The World Rugby Council has approved a new aligned international calendar, expanded 24-team men’s World Cup and a top division of 12 teams in a Nations League concept from 2026 that will have promotion and relegation but only from 2030.

It is a major reform of a sport that is struggling to provide meaningful opportunities to smaller unions, and comes at a time when the likes of Portugal and Fiji have shown the promise of Tier Two sides at the World Cup in France.

World Rugby says the changes have been made to allow those nations greater access to play elite opposition, but there has been criticism that the initial ‘closed shop’ nature of the Nations League will hinder this.

There will also be a first ever dedicated international release window in the women’s game from 2026, with a review of the global calendar and competition structures promised in the future.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment