Tour de France 2018: Froome and Quintana eye records - the Tour in Opta numbers

A place in Tour de France folklore beckons for Chris Froome, but Nairo Quintana has records of his own in his sights.

Chris Froome is aiming to become the fourth rider to win four consecutive editions of the Tour.   -  AP

Chris Froome has the chance to write his name in the Tour de France history books yet again when the 2018 race gets under way on Saturday.

The Briton's participation in this year's edition had been in some doubt following the UCI investigation into his adverse doping finding at last year's Vuelta a Espana, however he was cleared of any wrongdoing by world cycling's governing body on Monday.

READ| Froome cleared of wrongdoing in 'anti-doping'

Once again, Nairo Quintana is expected to battle with him for the general classification, while Richie Porte and Adam Yates are also well fancied ahead of the first stage on July 3.

Here, with the help of Opta data, we take a look at some of the best facts heading into cycling's iconic three-week race.

- Chris Froome is aiming to become the fourth rider to win four consecutive editions of the Tour and the first since Miguel Indurain (1991-1995). Jacques Anquetil and Eddy Merckx have also achieved the feat.

- The Briton is also aiming to become the fifth rider to win the race on five occasions overall (matching Anquetil, Merckx, Indurain and Bernard Hinault). 

- Nairo Quintana has finished on the podium in three of the four editions of the Tour that he has participated in, the exception being his 12th place in 2017.

- After winning the 2016 Vuelta and 2014 Giro, Quintana is aiming to become the eighth rider to win all three Grand Tours.

- Adam Yates won the Young Riders Classification at the 2016 Tour, finishing fourth overall. He comes into this race on the back of four top-five finishes in stage races in 2018, including a second place at the Criterium du Dauphine.

- Since 2012, the Tour is the only Grand Tour race that Richie Porte has finished, with his fifth place in 2016 his best-ever result in the race.

- Peter Sagan had won the Points Classification in five consecutive editions before being disqualified from last year’s race following a crash with Mark Cavendish; Erik Zabel is the only other rider to win the jersey as often (six times, 1996-2001).

- Cavendish has won 30 stages of the Tour, only Merckx (34) has more stage victories in the history of the race.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :