ISSF World Championship: India clinches mixed team air pistol gold

The Indian pair of Esha Singh and Shiva Narwal defeated the Turkish team of Sevval Tarhan and Yusuf Dikec 16-10 in the gold-medal match to secure India’s first gold medal.

Published : Aug 18, 2023 17:12 IST , BAKU - 1 MIN READ

Esha Singh and Shiva Narwal pose with their medal at the ISSF World Championship in Baku.
Esha Singh and Shiva Narwal pose with their medal at the ISSF World Championship in Baku. | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Esha Singh and Shiva Narwal pose with their medal at the ISSF World Championship in Baku. | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Esha Singh and Shiva Narwal won the mixed air pistol gold to put India second on the medals table in the World Championship on Friday.

The Indian pair beat Sevval Tarhan and Yusuf Dikec of Turkey 16-10 in the match for the gold medal. Earlier, Esha and Shiva had topped the qualification with 583 out of 600 in a strong field of 65 teams.

It was the second medal for Shiva, following the team bronze earlier.

The other Indian mixed team of Divya TS and Sarabjot Singh placed 22nd with 574.

In mixed air rifle, Mehuli Ghosh and Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar placed ninth with a score of 630.2 They were 1.2 point away from qualifying for the medal match.

China won the mixed air rifle gold, by beating Iran 16-2. Overall, the Chinese were on top of the medals table with five gold and two bronze.

In women’s skeet, Parinaaz Dhaliwal and Ganemat Sekhon shot 118, and placed 19th and 21st respectively. They missed the final by three points. Darshna Rathore (115) placed 38th in a field of 71 shooters.

In men’ skeet, Olympian Angad Vir Singh Bajwa rose to the 25th spot following two perfect rounds of 25. He had 97 out of 100. Anant Jeet Singh Naruka (96) and Gurjoat Khangura (93) were in the 41st and 78th spots in a strong field of 125 shooters.

The last round of men’s qualification and the final for the top-six will be held on Saturday.

10m air pistol mixed team: 1. India (Esha Singh, Shiva Narwal) 16 (583); 2. Turkey (Sevval Tarhan, Yusuf Dikec) 10 (581); 3. China (Jiang Ranxin, Zhang Bowen) 17 (580); 4. Iran (Haniyeh Rostamiyan, Sajjad Lafmejani) 7 (580); 22. India-1 (Divya TS, Sarabjot Singh) 574.
10m air rifle mixed team: 1. China 16 (632.7); 2. Iran 2 (632.5); 3. France 17 (631.4); 4. Israel 9 (631.4); 9. India-2 (Mehuli Ghosh, Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar) 630.2; 17. India-1 (Ramita Jindal, Divyansh Singh Panwar) 628.3.

More on Shooting

  1. Olympic selection trials: Manu tops women’s air pistol; Valarivan, Jindal shine in air rifle
  2. From Siachen to Paris 2024: Unwilling shooter Sandeep realises Olympic dream through ‘picture-perfect’ journey
  3. Olympic Selection Trials: Ramita Jindal tops in women’s air rifle; Manu Bhaker leads in air pistol
  4. Bearing fruits of patience: Anjum, Aishwary shrug off poor start to realise Olympic dream again
  5. Olympic Selection Trials: Aishwary Pratap tops men’s rifle three-position, Manu Bhaker beats Esha Singh in air pistol event

Latest on Sportstar

  1. F1 Monaco: Sergio Perez crashes in Lap 1, Leclerc leads before red flag
  2. KKR vs SRH Live Score, IPL 2024 Final: Kolkata Knight Riders takes on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Chennai; Squads, predicted XI
  3. FIH Pro League 2023-24: Indian women’s team loses 3-0 to Argentina, stays winless in European leg
  4. KKR vs SRH Live Toss Updates, IPL 2024 Final: Shreyas Iyer’s Kolkata Knight Riders or Pat Cummins’ Sunrisers Hyderabad — Who will win coin flip today?
  5. F1 Monaco Grand Prix Live Updates, Formula One 2024: Charles Leclerc stays ahead; Perez suffers huge crash; session red flagged
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment