India announces 29-member team for shotgun World Championship

Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Zoravar Singh Sandhu, Angad Vir Singh Bajwa and Zoravar Singh Sandhu are the notable names missing from the Indian contingent.

Kynan Chenai and Prithviraj Tondaiman will be leading the men's trap team.   -  Special Arrangement

India’s 29-member team for the shotgun World Championship in Italy features many new names. The tournament is set to happen in the town of Lonato from July 1 to 10.

The event, despite not offering any Olympic quota places, still holds a lot of significance.

Kynan Chenai and Prithviraj Tondaiman, two shooters who have been consistent this season, will be the leading the men’s trap. Former world champion Manavjit Singh Sandhu, who is still recovering his health following illness, is replaced by the young Vivaan Kapoor. Zoravar Singh Sandhu, who shot at the last two World Cups, did not make the cut.

Vishwa Kundu, Bhowneesh Mendiratta and Shardul Vihan make up the junior trap team.

READ | Kumar Surendra Singh Shooting Championship events to be followed by fifth selection trial

In the men’s skeet, Olympian Mairaj Ahmad Khan and Sheeraz Sheikh have retained their spot while the reigning Asian and national champion Angad Vir Singh Bajwa is still out owing to illness. 20-year-old Anantjeet Singh Naruka has been able to fight his way back into the squad as the No.1 shooter.

Double trap, which has ceased to be an Olympic event, still figures in the World Championship with Ankur Mittal, Mohd. Asab and Ahvar Rizvi making up the Indian contingent.

In women’s trap, Olympian Shagun Chowdhary — who has stayed on top of the averages — is joined by World Cup silver medallist Seema Tomar and Manisha Keer.

In women’s skeet, young Areeba Khan topped the averages to make the team as the best, and will have Karttiki Singh Shaktawat and former national champion Saniya Sheikh for company.

The Indian squad is likely to train at home before reaching Italy in time for the event.


The team


Trap: Kynan Chenai, Prithviraj Tondaiman, Vivaan Kapoor

Juniors: Vishwa Kundu, Bhowneesh Mendriatta, Shardul Vihan

Skeet: Anantjeet Singh Naruka, Mairaj Ahmad Khan, Sheeraz Sheikh

Juniors: Gurnihal Singh Garcha, Ayush Rudraraju, Arjun Thakur

Double trap: Ankur Mittal, Mohd. Asab, Ahvar Rizvi


Trap: Shagun Chowdhary, Seema Tomar, Manisha Keer

MQS: Rajeshwari Kumari, Soumya Gupta

Juniors: Kirti Gupta, Ayesha Khan, Preeti Rajak

Skeet: Areeba Khan, Karttiki Singh Shaktawat, Saniya Sheikh

Juniors: Asees Chhina, Parinaaz Dhaliwal, Darshna Rathore