Jayaprakash re-elected as President of Swimming Federation of India

R.N. Jayaprakash has been re-elected unanimously as the president of Swimming Federation of India during the annual general body meeting here on Sunday.

Published : May 21, 2023 16:34 IST , Chennai - 1 MIN READ

SFI office-bearers
SFI office-bearers | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

SFI office-bearers | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

R. N. Jayaprakash and Monal D Chokshi were re-elected President and Secretary of the Swimming Federation of India (SFI) at its annual general body meeting here on Sunday.  

“We are very proud of our Federation (SFI) that all our elections for the last few decades, till now, have always been unanimous. That’s the most unique thing of SFI. Full credit for that goes to Virendra Nanavati, Bureau member of FINA (International Swimming Federation) and Digambar Kamat, former Chief Minister of Goa,” said Jayaprakash at a press conference here on Sunday.  

According to the president of SFI, the target activities of SFI for the next four years will be to develop grassroots’ participation by holding camps and coaches’ clinics at the State-level. 

“We have 20,000 registered swimmers all over India and we want to increase the number by 5000-10000 every year,” said Jayaprakash.  

Jayaprakash said SFI’s special focus will be on water polo and diving as it would fetch the country lots of medals at the International tournaments.  

SFI, he said, will soon propose to four states on the need for the National Federation to set up an Academy. “SFI will request Governments in Telangana, Odisha, Tamil Nadu and Delhi to hand over their swimming pools to SFI for a year-long camp where we will bring in foreign coaches. Why we chose these four states is because all of them have start-of-the-art technology facilities when it comes to aquatics, he said. Chokshi said SFI is hoping to send a total of 4-6 swimmers to the Paris Olympics.  

SFI office-bearers:
President: R. N. Jayaprakash; Secretary: Monal D Chokshi; Treasurer: Sudesh Nagvenkar; vice-presidents: Rajkumar, Anil Vyas, M. Satish Kumar, Bhaskar Das, Anil Khatri; Jt. Secretaries: Seema Mehrotra, T. S. Muraleedharan, M. Lokeshwor Singh, Lakshmi Chandra Mahakur. 
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment