2020 Olympics: Tough road to Tokyo for Indian athletes

400m national-record holder, Muhammed Anas says he is surprised by the tough qualification standards.

A 400m Asian Games silver-medallist and a national record holder, Muhammed Anas is surprised by the qualification standards.   -  Getty Images

The road to the Tokyo Olympics has just got tougher.

The IAAF, the governing body for athletics, announced the qualification and entry standards for the 2020 Olympics and in a majority of the events, Indian athletes will have to break national records to make the cut.

Neeraj Chopra's 88.06m is India's national record for javelin throw.   -  PTI


“I didn’t expect the Olympic qualification standards to be so tough. They certainly surprised me,” Muhammed Anas, the Asian Games 400m silver medallist and National record-holder with 45.24s, told Sportstar on Monday evening.

The entry standard for Tokyo in the men’s quartermile is 44.90s.

However, the qualification window has been extended by two months for almost all the events and the entry doors will now open on May 1 this year (instead of July 1) and will close on June 29, 2020.


There is another way athletes can qualify for next year’s Olympics, by virtue of their world rankings.


Hima Das holds India's 400m national record with a time of 50.79 seconds.   -  Getty Images


“After extensive consultation with key stakeholders, the IAAF Council has decided to introduce a dual qualification system, combining both the entry standards and the new world ranking system, to determine which athletes are eligible for Olympic selection in 2020,” said the IAAF after its Council meeting in Doha on Sunday.

“The process is designed to achieve about 50 percent of the target numbers for each event through entry standards and the remaining 50 percent through the IAAF world ranking system.”

Entry standard for events at Tokyo 2020National records
Men's 100m (10.05s); women's 100m (11.15s)(Amiya Mallick, 10.26s); (Dutee Chand, 11.29s)
Men's 200m (20.24s); women's 200m (22.80s)(Muhammed Anas, 20.63s); (Saraswati Saha, 22.82s)
Men's 400m (44.90s); women's 400m (51.35s)(Muhammed Anas, 45.24s); (Hima Das, 50.79s)
Men's 800m (1:45.20s); women's 800m  (1:59.50s)800m (Jinson Johnson, 1:45.65s); (Tintu Luka, 1:59.17s)
Men's 1500m (3:35.00s); women's 1500m (4:04.20s)(Jinson Johnson, 3:37.86s); (Sunita Rani, 4:06.03s)
Men's 5000m (13:13.50s); women's 5000m (15:10.00s)(Bahadur Prasad, 13:29.70s); (Preeja Sreedharan, 15:15.89s)
Men's 10000m (27:28.00s); women's 10000m (31:25.00s)(Surendra Singh, 28:02.89s); (Preeja Sreedharan, 31:50.47s)
Men's 110m hurdles (13.32s); women's 100m hurdles  (12.84s)(Siddhanth Thingalaya, 13.48s); (Anuradha Biswal, 13.38s)
Men's 400m hurdles (48.90s); women's 400m hurdles (55.40s)(A. Dharun, 48.80s); (P. T. Usha, 55.42s)
Men's 3000m steeple chase (8:22.00s); women's 3000m steeple chase (9:30.00s)(Gopal Saini, 8:30.88s); (Lalita Babar, 9:19.76s)
Men's high jump (2.33m); women's high jump (1.96m)(Tejaswin Shankar, 2.29m); (Sahana Kumari, 1.92m)
Men's pole vault (5.80m); women's pole vault (4.70m)(S. Siva, 5.15m); (V. Surekha, 4.14m)
Men's long jump (8.22m); women's long jump (6.82m)(M. Sreeshankar, 8.20m); (Anju Bobby George, 6.83m)
Men's triple jump (17.14m); women's triple jump (14.32m)(Renjith Maheswari, 17.30m); (Mayookha Johny, 14.11m)
Men's shot put (21.10m); women's shot put (18.50m)(Tajinder Singh Toor, 20.75m); (Manpreet Kaur, 17.96m)
Men's discus throw (66m); women's discus throw (63.50m)(Vikas Gowda, 66.28m); (Krishna Poonia, 56.11m)
Men's hammer throw (77.50m); women's hammer throw (72.50m)(Neeraj Kumar, 70.73m); (Sarita Singh, 62.25m)
Men's javelin throw (85m); women's  javelin throw (64m)(Neeraj Chopra, 88.06m); (Annu Rani, 61.86m)
Men's decathlon (8350 pts); women's heptathlon (6420 pts)(Bharatinder Singh, 7658 pts);  (J. Shobha, 6211 pts)
Men's 20km race walk (1:21.00s); women's 20km race walk (1:31.00s)(K. T. Irfan, 1:20.21s); (Baby Soumya, 1:31.29s)
Men's 50km race walk (3:50.00) 
Men's marathon (2:11.30); women's marathon (2:29.30) 
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :