Badminton Nationals: Lakshya, Harsheel enter fourth round

Lakshya Sen, who won the Asian Junior Championships and bronze at World Junior Championships last year, notched up a 21-14, 21-13 win over Vipul Saini.

Harsheel Dani defeated seventh seed Balraj Kajla 21-14, 21-15 in a men's singles third round match at the Senior National Badminton Championships.   -  Rajeev Bhatt

Lakshya Sen and Harsheel Dani entered the men’s singles fourth round with straight-game victories at the 83rd Yonex Sunrise senior national badminton championship in Guwahati on Wednesday.

The 17-year-old Lakshya, who won the Asian Junior Championships and bronze at World Junior Championships last year, notched up a 21-14, 21-13 win over Vipul Saini. Harsheel dished out a compact performance to outclass seventh seed Balraj Kajla 21-14, 21-15.

RELATED | Teen shuttler Lakshya eyes top 30 ranking by year end

Former champions Sourabh Verma and Rituparna Das also entered the fourth round after contrasting wins on Wednesday.

Sourabh staved off a fight from eighth seed K. Jagadeesh 18-21, 21-11, 21-15 to set up a clash with Munawer Mohammed next, while Rituparna easily beat Saloni Kumari 21-14, 21-15 and will face Namita Pathania in the next round.

Arintap Dasgupta, Rahul Yadav C, Jaswanth D, Nikhilshyam Sriram, Alap Mishra, Priyanshu Rajawat, Aryamann Tandon, Mithun M, Kaushal Dharmamer, Munawer Mohammed, Rohit Yadav C and Pratul Joshi also made it into the fourth round of men’s singles.

Day 1: Badminton nationals: Lakshya, Sourabh, Harsheel win on Day 1

In women’s singles, Gayatri Gopichand, Riya Mookerjee, Malvika Bansod, Shikha Gautam, Vaidehi Choudhari, Aadya Variyath, Namita Pathania, Reshma Karthik, Vaishnavi Bhale, Neha Pandit, Bhavya Rishi, Shruti Mundada, Vrushali G, Deepali Gupta and Deepshikha Singh progressed to the next round.

Seventh seed stunned

Sixth seed Aryamann defeated Madhya Pradesh’s Priyanshu Rajawat 21-15, 21-10 while fifth seed Rahul Yadav from Telangana registered a 21-12, 21-11 win over Jaswanth D.

In the women’s singles, 14th seed Malvika Bansod stunned seventh-seed Shikha Gautam 21-11, 21-16, while fourth seed Vaidehi Choudhari got rid of Kerala’s Aadya Variyath 21-17, 21-13 in another match. Maharashtra’s Vaishnavi prevailed 21-19, 21-9 over 10th seeded Reshma Karthik, while state mate 15th seeded Neha claimed a 21-18, 20-22, 21-16 upset win over the third seed Bhavya Rishi.

In doubles, Manu Attri and Maneesha K, seeded seventh, beat mixed doubles top seeds Utkarsh Arora and Karishma Wadkar 21-19, 21-18 to reach the quarterfinals and they were joined by Shlok Ramchandran and Mithula UK, who beat Sanjai Srivatsa D and Kavipriya S 21-17, 21-13.

Veteran men’s doubles team of V Diju and Rupesh Kumar also dispatched Prince Chaturvedi and Sangram Chutia 21-15, 21-11 in just 20 minutes en route to the pre-quarter-finals.

The top shuttlers, led by Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu, will begin their challenge from February 14. The top eight seeds in singles have been directly placed in the round-of-16 while the top four seeds in doubles will start from the quarterfinals

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos