Ajay Singh re-elected as president of Boxing Federation of India

Incumbent Ajay Singh was re-elected BFI's president, after comprehensively defeating challenger Ashish Shelar in the polls which had an AIBA observer in attendance.

Ajay Singh prevailed 37-27 in the elections.   -  Kamal Narang

Ajay Singh was re-elected the president of the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) in the elections held at Gurugram on Wednesday. Singh defeated Maharashtra MLA Ashish Shelar.

Singh polled 37 votes against Shelar’s 27. Hemanta Kumar Kalita was elected secretary, beating C.V. Raje. Digvijay Singh beat Anil Mishra to take the treasurer’s post.

Former secretary Jay Kowli did not contest the elections, which was earlier postponed due to the pandemic. “This is an important year. Nine boxers have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics and we hope more boxers will qualify,” said Singh.

AIBA president: 'We will send observer for Boxing Federation of India elections'  

Singh said the BFI would work towards developing boxing at the grassroots level and conducting more open championships. He also promised a stronger sports science back-up for boxers and focus on women's boxing.

He also informed that the Asian championships would be held in Delhi either in April or May this year.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :