National Boxing Championships: Shiva Thapa storms into semis, Nishant upsets Naveen

Thapa faced a stiff challenge, he did not let the momentum slip and completed a 4-1 win in the 63.5kg quarterfinal.

Nishant Dev (left) in action against Naveen Boora of Services on Sunday.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Young Nishant Dev upset Strandja memorial bronze medallist Naveen Boora to enter the semifinals and ensure his first podium finish in the National boxing championships at the Inspire Institute of Sports (IIS) on Sunday.

Boxing at home, 20-year-old Nishant, an IIS trainee hailing from Haryana but representing Karnataka, used his experience of sparring with 69kg National champion Naveen in the National camp to record a 5-0 victory in the 71kg quarterfinal.

Nishant, a southpaw, initiated attacks early and used his left shots well to keep the hard-punching Services rival quiet.

“The time spent at the camp made me fight fearlessly. Even though I had soreness in my body due to the previous bout (against Railways’ Ashish Kulheria), I could fight well,” said Nishant.

ALSO READ | Boxer Manny Pacquiao nominated as presidential candidate for Philippines 2022 election

Promising Services boxer Sumit gave a power-packed performance to get the better of experienced hand Ankit Khatana of Haryana 5-0 in a 75kg quarterfinal contest.

Sumit, who trained at the Sports Authority of India centre in Hisar early in his career, impressed with his powerful fast hands.

The seasoned Shiva Thapa boxed intelligently to thwart the challenge of World youth bronze medallist Ankit Narwal of Railways. Shiva banked on his defensive skills and clean punches to beat Narwal 4-1 in a 63.5kg last-eight fight.  

Important results (quarterfinals):

48kg: Barun Singh (SSCB) bt Neeraj Swami (Del) 5-0, Govind Sahani (RSPB) bt Shiv Kant (Pun) 4-1.

51kg: Deepak Kumar (SSCB) bt Sparsh Kumar (Pun) 5-0, Ankit (Har) bt Ashish Insha (RSPB) 3-2

54kg: Sachin Siwach (RSPB) bt Roshan Zameer (Goa) 5-0

57kg: Mohd. Hussamuddin bt  Rushikesh Goud (Mah) KO-R3

60kg: Varinder Singh (RSPB) bt Inderjit Singh (DDNH) 5-0

63.5kg: Abhinash Jamwal (HP) bt Hitesh Singh (DDNH) 4-1

67kg: Amit Sheoran (Raj) bt Aman (Chd) 3-2

71kg: Amit Kumar (DDNH) bt Nagesh Kharare (Mah) 5-0

75kg: Buntee Singh (Del) Pushpender Rathee (Goa) 4-1

80kg: Sachin Kumar (SSCB) bt Uday Singh (Kar) 4-1

86kg: Gowtham Palani (TN) bt Vishal Bataan (Kar) RSC-R1, Sumit Sangwan (Har) bt Avinash Singh (MP) RSC-R3

92kg: Sanjeet (SSCB) bt Sandeep Sharma (RSPB) ABD-R2

92+kg: Narender (SSCB) bt Tarun Sharma (Raj) 5-0.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :