Maninder Singh, Sanjeev Sharma join race for selector job

The selectors will be picked by a three-member CAC comprising former cricketers Madan Lal, R.P. Singh and Sulakshana Naik.

Former India cricketer Maninder Singh has played 35 Test matches.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT


Former India left-arm spinner Maninder Singh and medium-fast bowler Sanjeev Sharma, both from Delhi, have applied for the post of national selector.

It is understood that they have joined the race as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) indicated that the zonal system of picking national selectors is likely to be done away with.

The 54-year-old Maninder, who played 45 first-class matches, including 35 Tests, had recently accepted the responsibility to head the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) at the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA). Sanjeev, who played last of his two Tests in 1990 on the tour of England, has been a national junior selector.

Former Vidarbha off-spinner Pritam Gandhe, who figured in 100 first-class matches, has applied for a spot in the national junior selection committee, just as former Test wicketkeeper Nayan Mongia, who played 140 first-class matches, including 44 Tests.

READ| Madan Lal, RP Singh, Sulakshana Naik join BCCI CAC

Among those who also are in the fray are L. Sivaramakrishnan (76 first-class matches and nine Tests), Venkatesh Prasad (123 first-class matches and 33 Tests), Ajit Agarkar (110 first-class matches and 26 Tests), Rajesh Chauhan (99 first-class matches and 21 Tests) and Amay Khurasiya (119 first-class matches).

According to a BCCI source, president Sourav Ganguly was in favour of abolishing the zonal representation in the national selection committee. “In the past, there was reason to have zonal representation since information on many matches was not easily available to all the members. Now the system is selectors don’t watch matches involving teams within their zone. Even the Duleep Trophy is not played on the inter-zonal basis anymore. It is better to have deserving and best candidates as national selectors. It brings more strength to the committee,” said the board member.

The selectors will be picked by a three-member CAC comprising former cricketers Madan Lal, R.P. Singh and Sulakshana Naik.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos