Vijay Hazare Trophy: Mayank Agarwal makes history

Karnataka batsman Mayank Agarwal became the highest run-getter in the Vijay Hazare Trophy when he went past Dinesh Karthik's previous record of 607, on Saturday.

Karnataka's Mayank Agarwal plays a shot against Maharashtra in the semifinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Saturday   -  SHIV KUMAR PUSHPAKAR

Mayank Agarwal made history in the Vijay Hazare Trophy by becoming the highest run-maker in one season. The Karnataka opener, during his knock of 81 against Maharashtra in the semifinal at the Ferozeshah Kotla ground, overtook Dinesh Karthik’s record of 607 runs, set last year at the same venue.

He now has a tally of 633 runs from seven innings. He has a chance to add to the aggregate when Karnataka plays the final on February 27.

According to veteran cricket statistician H. R. Gopalakrishna, Mayank, who scored a staggering 1160 runs from eight matches in Ranji Trophy this season, now tops the list of six batsmen who have scored over 500 runs in a season of Vijay Hazare.

On this day, Mayank also broke Srivats Goswami’s record of 14 sixes in a season of this 50-over competition. He now has 15 sixes to his credit.

List of batsmen who have scored over 500 runs in a season of Vijay Hazare Trophy:

1. Mayank Agarwal (Karnataka, 2017-18), 6 matches, 633 runs.
2. Dinesh Karthik (Tamil Nadu, 2016-17), 9 matches, 607 runs,
3. Srivats Goswami (Bengal, 2009-10), 7 matches, 568 runs,
4. Abhinav Mukund (Tamil Nadu, 2009-10), 8 matches, 558 runs,
5. Robin Uthappa (Karnataka, 2013-14), 8 matches, 536 runs,
6. Virat Kohli (Delhi, 2008-09), 7 matches, 534.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :