Ian Chappell: Steve Smith might get captaincy back if there's no other choice

Captain Tim Paine's performance behind the wicket and his tactics as captain in the Test series against India, which Australia lost 1-2, were criticised by former players.

"Steve Smith might get the captaincy again but I think it's only going to be in the circumstances where there's not much other choice," Ian Chappell said (File Photo).   -  Getty Images

Former Australian skipper Ian Chappell feels star batsman Steve Smith might get back captaincy despite his involvement in the infamous ball-tampering scandal in 2018 if there is no other choice to replace Tim Paine.

Paine's performance behind the wicket and his tactics as captain in the just-concluded Test series against India, which Australia lost 1-2, were severely criticised by former players.

 

Alongside vice-captain Pat Cummins, the 31-year-old Smith seemed to be a front runner for the skipper's role if Paine is to be replaced as a fallout of the loss to India. Smith's two-year leadership ban following the "sandpaper-gate" ended last year.

"Yeah sure, he might get the captaincy again but I think it's only going to be in the circumstances where there's not much other choice," Chappell, who captained Australia from 1971 to 1975, told 'Wide World of Sports'.

READ | Siraj on racial abuse: Umpires offered us to leave the Sydney Test midway

Chappell questioned why Smith is eligible to captain Australia again while David Warner has a lifetime leadership ban. He said Smith's "crime" in the ball-tampering scandal was greater than that of Warner, his deputy at that time.

Smith was stripped of the captaincy and banned from leading Australia for two years while his deputy Warner was handed a lifelong leadership ban, for their roles in the 2018 ball-tampering scandal in South Africa.

"Why aren't Smith and Warner in the same category? If Smith only gets a 24-month ban on captaincy, why doesn't Warner only get that?" Chappell asked.

"Or if Warner gets a lifetime ban on captaincy, why doesn't Smith? Because Smith's crime in my eyes was greater than Warner's."

Television footage had shown Cameron Bancroft taking a yellow object out of his pocket while fielding in the post-lunch session and rubbing it on the ball. He was later charged for attempting to change the condition of the ball.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :