World Cup 2019, IND vs AUS: India opts to bat, both teams unchanged

Virat Kohli won the toss and has opted to bat against Australia in India's second match of World Cup 2019.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma are India's openers   -  AFP Photo

Toss: India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and has opted to bat at Kennington Oval, London in match 14 of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Team news: Both sides are unchanged and have gone with the same XI.

Pitch report: "It's a typical Oval wicket with a covering of thick grass and it will do a bit later in the day. It looks nice, hard and dry and might slow up later in the day. Kohli or Finch might select to bat first as it looks a good pitch to bat on. 280+ score on the cards," says Michael Slater.

Weather: It did rain two days ago but today is way different as the weather looks amazing. It is bright and sunny.


Virat Kohli: We are gonna bat first, looks a nice wicket. It's been used before and it'll get slower. Best conditions to bat first and put some runs on the board. The bowling attack can put pressure on the opposition. The batsmen would be wary about the situation. With the sun out, it's a no brainer to bat first. It's been used before so there is not much moisture in the pitch. We think it's gonna play nicely and the bat will come on to the bat. We are playing with the same line-up because we have a nice balance.

Aaron Finch:  I would have batted first. It's a dry surface, might get slower later. I think in the World Cup you are playing against different oppositions, good chance for the players to get out there and express themselves. You look at every situation, we are going with the same playing XI. We didn't have the best of the games in the previous match.

Playing XIs:

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey(w), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :