ICC reinstates Zimbabwe, Nepal as members

The International Cricket Council on Monday decided to reinstate Zimbabwe Cricket as its member following its suspension in July due to government interference.

Published : Oct 14, 2019 21:09 IST , Mumbai

In July, Zimbabwe was banned from the events by the ICC.
In July, Zimbabwe was banned from the events by the ICC.

In July, Zimbabwe was banned from the events by the ICC.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has reinstated Zimbabwe and Nepal as its members. The decision was taken at the ICC Board meetings in Dubai on Monday.

Zimbabwe was readmitted by the ICC Board following a meeting with the ICC Chairman and Chief Executive, Zimbabwe Cricket Chairman Tavengwa Mukuhlani and Zimbabwe Sports Minister Kirsty Coventry and Gerald Mlotshwa, the Chairman of the Sports and Recreation Commission. It had been suspended in July this year, following government interference in the running of the Board.

READ | ICC Test rankings: Kohli closes in on No. 1 ranked Smith

ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar said: “I would like to thank the Zimbabwe Sports Minister for her commitment to the reinstatement of Zimbabwe Cricket. Her desire to work in support of Zimbabwe Cricket was clear and she has unconditionally complied with the conditions set down by the ICC Board. Funding to Zimbabwe Cricket will continue to be on a controlled basis as part of a collective effort behind getting the game in Zimbabwe back on an even keel.”

Zimbabwe will now be able to take up its place in the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup in January and the ICC Super League later in 2020.

Even though Zimbabwe returns to the mainstream again, it missed out on the three-match series against India. The team was supposed to tour India in January, but last month, the BCCI decided to replace Zimbabwe with Sri Lanka.

- Prize money increased for women's events -

In other decisions, ICC decided to increase the prize money for ICC women’s events by USD 2.6 million.

The increase follows a rise in the revenue generated by the sport, a proportion of which is assigned to prize money.

For the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia next year, the winners and runners up will now receive USD 1 million and USD 500,000 respectively -- five times the amount on offer in 2018.

An overall 320 per cent increase in the prize pot for 2020 (compared to 2018) will see every single one of the 10 competing teams receive significantly more as part of ongoing efforts to drive improved standards throughout the game and not just rewarding the top end.

There will also be a substantial increase in the money available for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 with the prize pot increasing to USD 3.5m from USD 2m in 2017.

The Board also approved the establishment of an U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup with the first edition to be played in Bangladesh in 2021 and every two years after that.

“We want to build a long-term sustainable foundation for women’s cricket and that is about more than just prize money. It is about building a product that fans want to watch, that kids want to take up, that sponsors and broadcasters want to be part of,” ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney said.

“Creating a Women’s U19 event also improves the pathway available to young cricketers and ensures they have the same opportunities as their male counterparts.

“This significant increase in prize money and the introduction of a Women’s U19 event is part of a much larger effort to grow the women’s game around the world.”


( With inputs from PTI )

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment