India vs Australia: R. Ashwin ruled out of Perth Test due to injury

Ravindra Jadeja finds a space in the 13-man squad announced for the second Test in Perth; Prithvi Shaw and Rohit Sharma are also ruled out due to injury.

Big blow: R. Ashwin took six wickets in the first Test in Adelaide, including the final one of the contest.   -  AFP

Two Indian participants from the first Test in Adelaide — R. Ashwin and Rohit Sharma — have been ruled out of the second Test in Perth. In the 13-man squad announced by the BCCI on Thursday, seamers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav, and left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja, none of whom played the first Test in Adelaide, have been included.


Opener Prithvi Shaw continues to undergo treatment for his ankle injury suffered in a warm-up match before the first Test. He is also ruled out of the second Test.

Ashwin, who contributed significantly to India’s 31-run win in Adelaide, taking six wickets, is suffering from a left-side abdominal strain. Jadeja may fill in for the offpsinner for the second Test in Perth, unless the Indian team management decides to field only specialist fast bowlers.

Rohit, who scored 38 runs across two innings in Adelaide, is undergoing treatment for a jarred lower back. He had suffered the condition while fielding in the first Test.

The second Test, to be played at the Optus Stadium in Perth, begins on Friday.

India’s 13-man squad for second Test
  • Virat Kohli (c), M. Vijay, K. L. Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :