India tour of NZ: Shami, Rohit return to T20I squad

Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma, who were rested for India's three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, have returned to the squad for the tour of New Zealand.

Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma have returned after being rested for the T20I series against Sri Lanka.   -  R.V. MOORTHY

The M.S.K. Prasad-led national selection committee has named a 16-member T20I squad for the five-match series against New Zealand starting January 24 in Auckland.

Vice-captain Rohit Sharma and fast bowler Mohammed Shami have returned to the squad, with Sanju Samson making way for Rohit.

Shami and Rohit had been rested for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. Navdeep Saini, playing in place of Shami, finished as the highest wicket-taker in the series and Samson ended a five-year wait to return to the playing XI after featuring in the third T20I in Pune.

Read: Harmanpreet to lead India at Women's T20 WC, Richa Ghosh included

Tamil Nadu's Vijay Shankar has replaced Hardik Pandya in the India A squad for the shadow tour after the Baroda all-rounder failed a fitness test before the departure to New Zealand.

India squad for New Zealand T20I series: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, K.L. Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos