IPL 2020: All you need to know about Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2020 schedule, MI vs CSK IPL all team players list, squad updates: Chennai Super Kings takes on Mumbai Indians in the IPL opener on September 19.

Chennai Super Kings will take on Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020 opener.   -  K.R. DEEPAK

The much-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) starts on Saturday with defending champion Mumbai Indians taking on Chennai Super Kings at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.  The venue, which was opened in May 2004, hosted its maiden first-class match when Scotland took on Kenya in the Intercontinental Cup in November that year. The stadium is named after former UAE President His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan It staged its first T20I on February 10, 2010, when Afghanistan played Scotland. The last T20I was played between United Arab Emirates and Canada on Oct 27, 2019. Chennai Super Kings will play four matches at the venue and Mumbai Indians eight.

Check out our latest Magazine ebook by clicking here.



MS Dhoni is back in action after July 10, 2019 when India exited the World Cup semifinals. CSK coach Stephen Fleming feels Dhoni is “mentally engaged and determined” to encounter the challenges of a “tactically different” IPL. Here's what he had to say - READ

Along the way, there have been some matches more memorable than the others. Here's a quick look at the top five MI-CSK IPL encounters. - READ

READ| IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings team preview - Dad’s Army, with some young blood

Here's a breakdown of the top three run-getters and wicket-takers from Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings - READ

Mumbai has won a record four IPL titles while CSK is a close second with three. Here's a breakdown of finalists and results of all finals of IPL - READ

READ| IPL 2020 MI vs CSK preview: It's time to clear the rope

CSK CEO K.S. Viswanathan told Sportstar on Friday that Dwayne Bravo, Imran Tahir and Mitchell Santner had completed six days after their arrival in UAE after taking part in the CPL and were eligible for Saturday's game. READ


CHENNAI SUPER KINGS SQUAD: MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicketkeeper), Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Josh Hazlewood, Kedar Jadhav, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Monu Kumar, Shane Watson, Sai KishoreNarayan Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay

MUMBAI INDIANS SQUAD: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Quinton de Kock (Wicketkeeper), Kieron Pollard, Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Mohsin Khan, Prince Balwant Rai Singh, Digvijay Deshmukh, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare, James Pattinson

READ| IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians team preview - Geared up for title defence


1. Chris Gayle (West Indies)

- Has six IPL hundreds – the most by any batsman

- His 175 not out is the highest score not only in the IPL, but in all T20 cricket

- His run aggregate of 4,480 runs is the highest by an opening batsman in the IPL

2. David Warner (Australia)

- Fourth-highest run-getter in the IPL with 4,706 runs – the most by a foreign player

- His 48 scores of 50-plus are the most by any batsman in IPL cricket

- Has the most scores in the 90s (5) in the IPL

READ| Mumbai Indians' James Pattinson: You just have to play to your strengths

3. Virat Kohli (India)

- Leading run-getter in IPL cricket with 5,412 runs

- Has the most runs in a single IPL season (973) in 2016 – the only batsman with 900 or more runs!

- Has the most hundreds in a single IPL season (4) in 2016

4. Suresh Raina (India)

- Second-highest run-getter in IPL cricket with 5,368 runs

- Has aggregated 400 or more runs in nine out of 12 IPL seasons – the most by any batsman

- Has aggregated 350 or more runs in each of the 12 IPL seasons – the only one to do so

5. M. S. Dhoni (India) – captain/wicketkeeper

- His batting average of 42.20 is the second highest by a batsman in IPL cricket with over 600 runs

- Has played the most matches as captain (174) in the IPL

- The only player to win over 100 matches (104) as captain in the IPL

READ| CSK bowling coach L. Balaji: Seniors bring experience

6. A. B. de Villiers (South Africa)

- His batting strike rate 151.24 is the highest by any batsman in IPL cricket with over 3,000 runs

- Can also keep wickets

7. Harbhajan Singh (India)

- Has 150 wickets in IPL cricket – the most by an off-spinner

- Has an economy rate of 7.05 runs per over, which is the third best among bowlers with 100 or more wickets

- A useful batsman with a strike rate of 138, with several cameo knocks of high quality

8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

- Has 133 wickets, making him the sixth-highest wicket-taker in IPL cricket

- His economy rate of 7.24 is the second-best by a pacer after Lasith Malinga among bowlers with 100 or more IPL wickets

- His bowling strike rate of 19.64 balls per wicket is the second-best by an Indian pacer with 100 or more IPL wickets

READ| IPL 2020: Hoping the bubble doesn’t burst

9. Amit Mishra (India)

- Has 157 IPL wickets – the second-most after Malinga and the most by a spinner in IPL cricket

- Has claimed three hat-tricks in the IPL – the most by any bowler

10. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

- Is the leading wicket-taker in the IPL with 170 wickets

- His bowling average of 19.79 is the lowest among bowlers with 50 or more IPL wickets

- His bowling strike rate of 16.63 balls per wicket is the best by a pacer with 50 or more IPL wickets

- His economy rate of 7.14 is the best by a pacer among bowlers with 100 or more IPL wickets

11. Zaheer Khan (India)

- Has 102 wickets in IPL cricket

- The only left-arm bowler in the side

(IPL XI by Mohandas Menon)

The match will be streamed live on Star’s video on demand platform Disney+Hotstar. You can also follow live updates from the opening match on  Sportstar's match day live blog.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :