Virat Kohli becomes batter with most runs at a T20 venue

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Virat Kohli has etched his name in the record books yet again as he topped the list of batters with most runs at a single venue in T20 Internationals.

Published : Apr 27, 2023 15:57 IST , Chennai - 1 MIN READ

RCB’s Virat Kohli in action.
RCB’s Virat Kohli in action. | Photo Credit: Murali Kumar K/The Hindu

RCB’s Virat Kohli in action. | Photo Credit: Murali Kumar K/The Hindu

Royal Challengers Bangalore stand-in captain Virat Kohli now has the record for most runs at a single venue in T20s, having breached the 3000-mark during an Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 match against the Kolkata Knight Riders at the M. Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday.

The flip of the coin favoured Virat Kohli, who chose to bowl first at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.


Back-to-back fifties for Jason Roy!


Vijaykumar Vyshak removed the KKR openers - Narayan Jagadeesan (27, 29b) and Jason Roy (56, 29b).

Andre Russell failed to get a good score yet again. He is going through a shocking dip in form, having scored merely 107 in his seven outings with KKR this season. Mohammed Siraj, who castled him, meanwhile, moved to the top of the Purple Cap leaderboard.

Kolkata Knight Riders finished with 200 on the board. Interestingly, RCB has managed to chase a 200+ score only once in the last 15 years.

Photo: Ron Gaunt

Impact Player Faf du Plessis smacked 17 off seven balls, which included two successive maximums off Umesh Yadav. RCB had raced to 30 for no loss in two overs when leggie Suyash Sharma, introduced in the PowerPlay, had du Plessis caught by Rinku Singh at long-on. It was the wrong’un from Suyash that did the trick.

Photo: Ron Gaunt

An early onslaught from RCB openers forced Nitish Rana to turn to spin early and the move paid off when Suyash Sharma trapped Shahbaz Ahmed lbw. Suyash bowled in tandem with Varun Chakravarthy, who bagged the prized wicket of Glenn Maxwell. It was the third time in five innings that Chakravarthy has dismissed Maxwell. The two mystery spinners bowled a combined four overs for 28 runs and three wickets in the PowerPlay.


Virat Kohli reached his fifty off 33 balls, with a brace off Suyash Sharma. He had added 55 for the fourth wicket with Mahipal Lomror, when the latter fell for an 18-ball 34 to leave RCB 113/4 in 11.3 overs. Shortly after, Kohli smacked a pull off Andre Russell’s bowling, only for Venkatesh Iyer to take a stunning catch at deep midwicket. Kohli, who went for a 37-ball 54, now has the most runs by a batter at a single T20 venue, having breached the 3000-mark at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.


Varun Chakravarthy’s 3 for 27 broke the back of RCB’s run chase as KKR snapped its four- match losing streak. KKR won by 21 runs and stayed alive in the IPL playoffs race.

1 / 9
The flip of the coin favoured Virat Kohli, who chose to bowl first at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.
Photo: Saikat Das / SPORTZPICS for IPL

Kohli, who has 3015 runs at RCB’s home ground, scored a 37-ball 54 in a losing cause.

He overtook Bangladesh cricketer Mushfiqur Rahim’s record of 2989 runs at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Additionally, Kohli holds the record for most runs as a captain in IPL, topping the chart with 4994 runs. He is followed by Chennai Super Kings skipper M.S Dhoni (4617 runs) and Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma (3835).

Kohli returned as RCB captain, in IPL 2023, for the first time after two seasons in the match against Punjab Kings as he replaced the regular skipper Faf du Plessis, who was sidelined due to a rib injury. Kohli has represented RCB since the first season of the IPL and became the regular captain at Royal Challengers in 2013.

Batters with most runs at a venue:

Player Runs Venue
Virat Kohli 3015 M. Chinnaswamy stadium
Mushfiqur Rahim 2989 Shere Bangla National Stadium
Mahmudullah 2813 Trent Bridge, Nottingham
Alex Hales 2749 Shere Bangla National Stadium
Tamim Iqbal 2706 Shere Bangla National Stadium

Most runs in IPL as captain:

Player Runs Team(s)
Virat Kohli 4994 Royal Challengers Bangalore
M.S. Dhoni 4617 Chennai Super Kings, Pune Super Giants
Rohit Sharma 3835 Mumbai Indians
Gautam Gambhir 3518 Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders
David Warner 3146 Delhi Capitals, Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment