Jaydev Shah elected Saurashtra Cricket Association president

Jaydev, son of former BCCI secretary and Saurashtra strongman Niranjan Shah, was the former captain of Saurashtra Ranji team in 110 outings.

Jaydev Shah has played alongside Saurashtra stalwarts Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara in the Ranji Trophy.   -  VIJAY SONEJI

The Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) has elected Jaydev Shah as it's new president.

Son of former BCCI secretary and Saurashtra strongman, Niranjan Shah, Jaydev has been a former captain of Saurashtra.

He led Saurashtra Ranji Team in 110 outings -- which is domestic cricket record. Under his captaincy, Saurashtra was runner-Up in Ranji Trophy in 2012-13 and 2015-16 and was also the national champion in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Having played with stars like Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara, Jaydev announced retirement from all formats of cricket in 2018.

According to a media release issued by the state association, Varesh Sinha -- a former chief election commissioner of the state and the electoral Officer of Saurashtra Cricket Association -- declared the office-bearers along with Apex Council Members duly elected for their respective posts, keeping the association's new constitution in mind.

While Jaydev was elected the president, Himanshu Shah -- the former media manager of the association -- has been elected as the honorary secretary.

Earlier this week, the CoA had specified that “the period spent by an individual as a working committee member in BCCI and/or member of working/managing/executive committee of a member association (by whatever name the apex-level governance committee is called) or as a director of a member association will be counted to calculate the nine-year period applicable as cap on tenure as a councillor and the six-year period necessitating cooling off.

”This had drawn flak from most of the state associations, but on Friday, the Supreme Court allowed the state units to hold elections in their respective associations. The latest Supreme Court directive restricted the disqualification from contesting elections to office-bearers only, leaving the other positions as they were earlier.

Talking to Sportstar, Jaydev said: "It's a new kind of captaincy and I am looking forward to it..."The state units need to conduct the elections by September 28 in a bid to be eligible for the BCCI elections -- scheduled to be held on October 22.

Newly elected Office Bearers of Saurashtra Cricket Association

Jaydev Shah (president), Dipak Lakhani (vice-president), Himanshu Shah (honorary secretary), Karan Shah (honorary joint secretary), Shyam Raichura (honorary treasurer).

Apex Council Members

Nilesh Doshi, Jayveer Shah, Vikrant Worah, Abhishek Talatiya, Raju Shah,  Abhishek Kamdar, Hiren Kothari, Chana Mori, Mihir Shah, Mahesh Kotecha, Hemant Shah.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :