Celebrating MS Dhoni: his top five knocks in ODIs

MS Dhoni's career is studded with several memorable knocks. We take a look at five of his best-ever innings.

Dhoni's unbeaten 91 in the 2011 World Cup final against Sri Lanka is arguably one of his most memorable knocks. Chasing 275 under lights at the Wankhede Stadium, Dhoni walked in at no. 5 ahead of the in-form Yuvraj Singh and put on a crucial 109-run partnership with Gautam Gambhir. Dhoni sealed the tie with a six over long-on as India ended its 28-year wait for another World Cup. Photo: K. R. Deepak
Dhoni, promoted up the order, smashed a blistering 148 against Pakistan in Visakhapatnam. Coming in at No. 3, the maverick wicketkeeper-batsman put the opposition bowlers to the sword, hammering 15 fours and four sixes. India posted 356/9 and won the game by 58 runs. Photo: K.R. Deepak
With the series level at 1-1, Pakistan set India a formidable target of 289. Dhoni joined Yuvraj with India still needing 99 off 92 deliveries. However, Dhoni's quickfire 72 off 46 balls including 13 fours, ensured India chased down the total with 14 balls to spare. That the knock came against a potent Pakistan attack comprising Mohammed Asif, Umar Gul, Naved Ul-Hasan, Abdul Razzaq and Shahid Afridi added further gloss to the win. Photo: S. Subramanium
Dhoni walked in at No. 3 in the first over of the 299 chase. 129 of Dhoni's swashbuckling 183 came in boundaries (15x4, 10x6) as he took India over the line with 23 balls to spare. The experienced Sri Lankan campaigners Chaminda Vaas and Muttiah Muralitharan were reduced to the role of mere spectators. Photo: S. Subramanium
This knock may not feature in the record books but it further underlined Dhoni's status as one of the game's best finishers. Chasing a modest 202 against Sri Lanka on a weary wicket in the tri-series final, Dhoni ran out of partners as India slipped from 145-5 to 182-9. However, Dhoni took the chase into the final over with India needing 15 off six to win. After a dot to begin the over, Dhoni smashed a six, four and another six as India clinched the trophy. Photo: AP