Rupa Gurunath set to become TNCA president

Rupa Gurunath is set to make history as the first woman president of a State Association in the BCCI.

Rupa Gurunath, daughter of former BCCI president N. Srinivasan, was the only nomination for the post of the TNCA president.   -  Bijoy Ghosh

Rupa Gurunath is set to make history as the first woman president of a State Association in the BCCI.

Rupa’s was the only nomination for the post of the president. She can still be, technically, challenged on the floor of the house - only a contest for the president’s job permits this - but the scenario is unlikely.

The ruling faction, loyal to former BCCI and ICC chief N. Srinivasan, enjoys an overwhelming majority. Since there is no other nomination [for any post] other than those from the ruling group, and Rupa is unlikely to face a challenger, senior vice-president P.S. Raman, expected to chair the AGM on Thursday, is likely to announce the results immediately.

READ| Tamil Nadu Cricket Association allowed to hold elections by Supreme Court

“There is no restriction on announcing the results. Those elected can assume office immediately. In any case, there is no other nomination,” Raman told Sportstar.

The deadline for filing nominations, ahead of the TNCA AGM, expired at 5 p.m. on Wednesday.

Groomed for the job by her father N. Srinivasan, Rupa has shown a keen interest in the game over the years and has, in the past, made quiet suggestions for the betterment of women’s cricket.

READ| Fixing allegations surface in TNPL

The 45-year-old Rupa, executive director of India Cements, is herself a sportswoman. She is a competent golfer and has taken part in amateur tournaments.

A mother of three children, Rupa, according to those who are close to her, is someone who is extremely focussed on the job she undertakes.

R. S. Ramasamy will be the new secretary, K. A. Shankar, joint secretary, and J. Parthasarathy, treasurer. 

T. J. Srinivasraj (City) and Dr. P. Ashok Sigamani (Districts) are among the incoming vice-presidents. 

The Apex Council has many fresh faces like that of P. S. Aravind representing the Krishnaraj Memorial CC.

The final list of valid nominations: President: Rupa Gurunath; Vice-presidents: T. J. Srinivasaraj (City), Dr. P. Ashok Sigamani (Districts); Secretary: R.S. Ramasamy; Joint Secretary: K.A. Shankar; Assistant secretary: N. Venkataraman; Treasurer: J. Parthasarathy.

Apex Council Members: City: Garnet CC: V. Karunakaran; Krishnaraj Memorial CC: P. S. Aravind; National United Club: M.K. Srivatsa; Prasad CC: N. Vijay Nirmal Kumar; Sumangali Homes: S. Prabu; Youngsters CC: Ajay Kumar Chandhok.

Districts: Coimbatore DCA: Shanmugham Goudhaman; Krishnagiri DCA: K.S. Srinivasan; Virudunagar DCA: R. Thiviaprahasam.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :