Pakistan brings in Amir, Shadab and Rizwan for South Africa series

The injured Mohammad Abbas and Fakhar Zaman are included in Pakistan's Test squad, alongside Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan and Mohammad Rizwan.

Mohammad Amir wasn't part of the squad for the home Tests against New Zealand.   -  Getty Images

Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan and Mohammad Rizwan have been included in Pakistan's Test squad for the tour of South Africa. 

The trio is included in the travelling party for the three-match series, starting on December 26, alongside injury doubts Mohammad Abbas and Fakhar Zaman. 

Seamer Abbas missed the final Test against New Zealand in Abu Dhabi with a shoulder issue, while batsman Fakhar is still rehabilitating from a knee problem suffered in October. 

The pair is expected to recover in time to play in the series opener at Centurion, however. 

Mohammad Hafeez is no longer available after announcing his retirement from Test cricket at the end of the series against the Black Caps.

Pakistan lost the final Test against New Zealand, to go down 2-1 in the three-match series.

Pakistan squad: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :