Ranji Trophy Plate Group: Sikkim, Uttarakhand secure successive wins

Sikkim registered its second win in its debut season beating host Nagaland by nine wickets.

Deepak Dhapola picked 13 wickets and helped Uttarakhand register its second straight win.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Deepak Dhapola returned with a match haul of 13 wickets as Uttarakhand secured its second straight victory in the Ranji Trophy Plate Group beating Manipur by eight wickets on Wednesday.

In Dimapur, Sikkim also registered its second win in its debut season beating host Nagaland by nine wickets.

Sikkim has 13 points along with Uttarakhand but the former occupies the pole position in the Plate Group on the basis of better net run-rate.

Dhapola, who ripped apart Manipur in the first innings with a 7/50, returned with 5/46 as he along with Sunny Rana, who bagged an identical 5/46.

Manipur had four ducks in its innings and with the wicket of skipper Yashpal Singh for 15 — taken by Sunny — Manipur slumped to 164/8, thus losing seven wickets for just 21 runs.

Manipur was eventually bowled out for 185 in the second essay, setting Uttarakhand a target of 95.

Uttarakhand lost opener Karanveer Kaushal (18), No. 3 Vaibhav Bhatt (27) but Vineet Saxena remained unbeaten on 32 to steer the team home in 17.5 overs and helped them bag six points.

Uttarakhand had beaten Bihar with a bonus point in its last match with Dhapola claiming 6/13 and 3/48.

In Dimapur, Sikkim was set a paltry target of 79 as skipper Nilesh Lamichaney remained unbeaten on 33 alongside Ashish Thapa (27 no) to win in 25.4 overs.

Former Delhi batsman Milind Kumar was its star player with second successive double century that gave them a 195-run first innings lead.

Nagaland put up a strong show in its second essay with K.B. Pawan’s 134 and Imliwati Lemtur’s 61 as it finished at 273 in its second innings.

Brief scores:

In Dehradun: Manipur 137 and 185; 74.4 overs (Lakhan Rawat 82; Deepak Dhapola 5/46, Sunny Rana 5/46) lost to Uttarakhand 228 and 99/2; 17.5 overs (Vineet Saxena 32 not out) by eight wickets.

Points: Uttarakhand 6, Manipur 0

In Dimapur: Nagaland 179 and 273; 95 overs (KB Pawan 134, Imliwati Lemtur 61; Ishwar Chaudhary 5/70, Bipul Sharma 3/67) lost to Sikkim 374 and 81/1; 25.4 overs (Nilesh Lamichaney 33 not out) by nine wickets.

Points: Sikkim 6, Nagaland 0.

In Jorhat: Arunachal Pradesh 220 and 331; 96 overs (Neelam Obi 80, K Yangfo 58, Kshitiz Sharma 57; Khadir 3/81) vs Mizoram 142 and 244/2 (Akhil Rajput 124, Taruwar Kohli 85) needs 166 runs to win.

In Puducherry: Puducherry 389 and 95/4 (Marimuthu Viknesh 47; Gurinder Singh 4/29) vs Meghalaya 326 (Yogesh Nagar 141 not out, Puneet Bisht 58; Pankaj Singh 6/39) Puducherry leads by 158 runs.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :