Ranji Trophy- Round 5, Day 4: Andhra, Odisha and Maharashtra register wins

Catch the Ranji Trophy highlights and analysis from the final day of the fifth round matches of the 2019-20 season, where Andhra and Odisha registered wins.

Tamil Nadu managed to salvage a draw against Mumbai on Tuesday.   -  R. Senthil Kumar

Hello, and welcome to Sportstar's live coverage of day four of the fifth round of Ranji Trophy 2019-20 season.


Assam vs Chhattisgarh: Match Drawn. Assam took first innings lead. Points: Assam: 3; Chhattisgarh 1

Andhra vs Hyderabad: Andhra won by an innings and 96 runs. Points: Andhra: 7; Hyderabad 0

Saurashtra vs Karnataka: Match Drawn. Saurashtra took first innings lead. Points: Saurashtra: 3; Karnataka: 1

Rajasthan vs Gujarat: Match Drawn. Rajasthan took first innings lead. Points: Rajasthan: 3, Gujarat 1

Uttar Pradesh vs Baroda: Match Drawn. Uttar Pradesh took first innings lead. Points: Uttar Pradesh: 3,Baroda: 1

Odisha vs Haryana: Odisha Won by 1 Wicket. Points: Odisha: 6, Haryana: 0 Point

Chandigarh vs Sikkim: Match Drawn. Chandigarh took first innings lead. Points: Chandigarh: 3, Sikkim: 1

Arunachal Pradesh vs Nagaland: Match Drawn Nagaland took first innings lead. Points: Arunachal Pradesh 1 Nagaland: 3

Tripura vs Uttarakhand: Match Drawn Tripura took first innings lead. Points: Tripura: 3, Uttarakhand: 1

Railways vs Madhya Pradesh: Match Drawn. Railways took first innings lead. Points: Railways: 3, Madhya Pradesh: 1

Jammu and Kashmir vs Services: J & K Won by 173 Runs. Points: J & K: 6, Services: 0

Maharashtra vs Jharkhand: Maharashtra Won by 8 Wickets. Points: 6, Jharkhand: 0

Pondicherry vs Goa: Goa Won by 81 Runs. Points: Pondicherry: 0, Goa: 6

Mizoram vs Meghalaya: Meghalaya Won by an innings and 425 Runs. Points: Mizoram: 0, Meghalaya: 7


  • Saurashtra vs Karnataka | Our correspondent Ashwin Achal pings: Players shake hands, match ends in a draw. Saurashtra content with 3 points, forgoing one hour of play.
  • Gujarat vs Rajasthan: Priyank Panchal and Samit Gohit hit unbeaten tons as Gujarat leads by 181 runs. Match heading towards a draw. Gujarat 216/1
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai | Match ends in a draw as Mumbai takes three points and Tamil NAdu gets one point.
  • Saurashtra vs Karnataka | Our correspondent Ashwin Achal updates: Deshpande departs. Lovely one handed reflex catch by Chauhan at short leg. Jadeja gets his second wicket. Big pressure on the Batsmen now. Five close-in catchers on the prowl. Karnataka 168/4
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai: Abhinav Mukund and L Suryaprakash give Tamil Nadu a steady start but Tamil Nadu trails by 127 runs. Tamil Nadu 37/0
  • Rajasthan vs Gujarat: Priyank Panchal and Samit Gohil forge a century stand and in the process complete their indidual fifties. Gujarat 126/1
  • Saurashtra vs Karnataka | Our correspondent Ashwin Achal updates: Siddharth gone. Jadeja gets one to bounce. Gets the edge, taken at slip. Karnataka 145/3
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai | Our correspondent Dipak Raghav updates: Tamil Nadu bowled out just after lunch for 324. 164 run lead conceded. Ashwin top scores with a brilliant 79. Mumbai has enforced the follow on. Tamil Nadu has two sessions to survive.
  • Saurashtra vs Karnataka | Our correspondent Ashwin Achal updates: Big wicket for Saurashtra. Samarth gone. Unadkat gets one to move in, goes between bat and pad and takes out middle stump. Saurashtra 120/2 after 52 overs.
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai: Shams Mulani strikes immediately after Lunch and removes K. Vignesh to pick his third wicket. Tamil Nadu 321/9
  • Rajasthan vs Gujarat: Priyank Panchal and Samit Gohit have forged a stand after the early fall of Kathan Patel. Gujarat 56/1 after 21 overs. Trails by 21 runs.
  • Maharshtra vs Jharkhand: Saurabh Tiwary has a job in his hands as Jharkhand trails Maharashtra by 106 runs. Jharkhand 158/4
  • Odisha vs Haryana: Odisha beats Haryana by just one wicket and pockets six points.
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai: Our correspondent Dipak Raghav pings: Just as Tamil Nadu got to 300, a mix up sees Sai kishore run out for a well made 42. Not what Tamil Nadu wanted.
  • Karnataka vs Saurashtra: R Samarth hits a fine half-century but Karnataka loses Rohan Kadam who departs for 42. The team 100 is up in 43.4 overs. Karnataka 104/1: trails by 306 runs.
  • Odisha vs Haryana: The eighth wicket falls for Odisha but it is now in touching distance of registering its fourth outright win. Odisha 168/8, needs 11 runs to win.
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai: R Ashwin hits a brilliant  half-century off 150 deliveries and he is leading a tremendous fightback along with R Sai Kishore. Tamil Nadu 283/7
  • Rajasthan vs Gujarat: Gujarat is poised to take the lead as it trails Rajasthan by just 17 runs. Gujarat 19/1
  • Odisha vs Haryana: Odisha requires another 27 runs with three wickets in hand. It's going to be a very close affair. Odisha 152/7
  • Andhra vs Hyderabad: Andhra is gunning towards an outright win as Hyderabad is six down, trailing still by 175 runs. Hyderabad 89/6
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai: Our correspondent Dipak Raghav with an update: Mumbai had a leg gully and a short leg. Deshpande attacks Ashwin's hips from around the wicket, he flicks it straight to that fielder Jay Bista, who drops a sitter. Tamil Nadu 265/7
  • Karnataka vs Saurashtra: Our correspondent Ashwin Achal with an update: Samarath survives a very close lbw shout on 32. South African Umpire Gcuma Lubabalo is not impressed, nor is bowler Jadeja. Karnataka 56/0.
  • Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai: Mumbai captain Aditya Tare asks for a ball change after just eight balls being bowled in the day. The visiting team huddle around the pitch discussing the deterioration over the past three days as the umpires get the replacement.



RESULTS On Day Three

1. Bihar 431 beat Manipur 94 and 154 by an innings and 183 runs.

2. Kerala 227 and 136 beat Punjab 218 and 124 by 21 runs.



Scores at the Stumps, Day 3

Sikkim 264 and 69 for 3 trails Chandigarh 360 by 27 runs.

Uttarakhand 90 and 21 for 1 trails Tripura 279 for 5 dec. by 168 runs.

Odisha 160 and 147 for 7 needs 32 runs to beat Haryana 90 and 248.

Tamil Nadu 249 for 7 trails Mumbai 488 by 239 runs.

Hyderabad 225 and 45 for 3 trails Andhra 489 for 8 dec. by 219 runs.

Chhattisgarh 318 and 25 for 1 trails Assam 464 for 9 dec. by 121 runs.

Nagaland 534 for 7 dec. and 10 for 0 leads Arunachal Pradesh 460 by 84 runs.

Rajasthan 327 for 7 leads Gujarat 325 by two runs.

Madhya Pradesh 124 and 308 for 5 leads Railways 244 by 188 runs.

J&K 360 and 184 for 5 leads Services 242 by 302 runs.

Goa 270 and 229 for 5 leads Puducherry 260 by 239 runs.

Mizoram 114 for 7 trails Meghalaya 662 for 4 dec. by 548 runs.

Baroda 179 for 8 trails UP 431 by 252 runs.

Karnataka 171 and 30 for 0 trails Saurashtra 581 for 7 dec. by 380 runs.

Jharkhand 170 and 47 for 1 trails Maharashtra 434 by 217 runs.