Tahir, Duminy and Morris miss out on national contracts

Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn have been awarded full CSA contracts for the first time, but there was no deal for Imran Tahir.

Published : Mar 01, 2019 20:09 IST

South Africa spinner Imran Tahir
South Africa spinner Imran Tahir

South Africa spinner Imran Tahir

Imran Tahir, JP Duminy and Chris Morris were notable absentees when Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the players who have been awarded national contracts for 2019-20.

Tahir turns 40 this month and revealed he may retire after the Cricket World Cup, so it is no surprise that the spinner has not been handed a deal by CSA.

Duminy underwent shoulder surgery last year, while Morris featured in the Twenty20 International series against Pakistan last month, but has not played a one-day international for over a year and you have to go back to 2017 for his last Test appearance.

Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn have been given their first full national contracts in a week which saw Duanne Olivier turn his back on his country to sign a Kolpak deal with Yorkshire.

Players who were omitted from the list could be upgraded to a full contract if they impress for the Proteas.

CSA contracted men's players: Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.




Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment