TNPL 2019: Subramania Siva's blitz flattens Kaalai

Skipper V. Subramania Siva’s whirlwind knock (87 not out) sets up Tuti Patriots’ 57-run win over iDream Karaikudi Kaalai on Thursday.

V. Subramaniya Siva of Tuti Patriots in action against iDream Karaikudi Kaalai on Thursday.   -  G. KARTHIKEYAN

Skipper V. Subramania Siva’s whirlwind knock (87 not out, 40b, 10x4, 5x6) set up Tuti Patriots’ 57-run win over iDream Karaikudi Kaalai in the Sankar Cement-TNPL at the NPR College grounds in Natham on Thursday.

Opting to bat, the Patriots lost its openers early. M. Kamalesh was run out off a fine direct hit by Maan K. Bafna, while Akshay V. Srinivasan edged one to wicketkeeper S. Ganesh off Ashwath Mukunthan as the Thoothukudi side was reduced to 16 for two in the fourth over.

Nidhish chips in

Nidhish S. Rajagopal (34, 28b, 6x4), who walked in at No. 4, hit a couple of boundaries to ease the pressure. Along with S. Abishiek, he added 22 before the former was stumped off leg-spinner Kishan Kumar in the eighth over.

Nidhish continued to play positively and kept the scoreboard ticking. However, R. Rajkumar provided the breakthrough for Kaalai, dismissing him in the 11th over with the score on 62.

Siva, who walked in next, changed the tempo of the Patriots’ innings with his aggressive knock. He was provided solid support by A. Venkatesh (30 not out, 26b, 3x4) and their unbeaten 113-run stand off just 59 balls for the fifth wicket powered Patriots to a challenging 175.

Medium-pacer Sunil Sam conceded 28 — the most in an over this season — in the 19th over with Siva scoring 27 of them, including three sixes and two fours.

Aniruda falls early

In reply, Kaalai began shakily, losing talismanic opener S. Aniruda and V. Aaditya with just 20 on the board.

There was damage control through the 40-run partnership for the third wicket between L. Suryapprakash (31, 30b, 3x4, 1x6) and R. Srinivasan, but there was no respite for the Kaalai batsmen as Patriots continued to chip away at them.

The scores:

Tuti Patriots 175 for four in 20 overs (Nidhish S. Rajagopal 34, A. Venkatesh 30 n.o., V. Subramania Siva 87 n.o.) bt iDream Karaikudi Kaalai 118 for eight in 20 overs (L. Suryapprakash 31, R.D. Ashwin Kumar 30 n.o., D. Tamil Kumaran two for 31, S. Senthil Nathan two for 20, A. Venkatesh two for 29).

Friday’s matches: Lyca Kovai Kings vs Siechem Madurai Panthers (3.15 p.m.); VB Kanchi Veerans vs Chepauk Super Gillies (7.15 p.m.).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :