India to host Inter-Continental Champions Cup in June

The tourney is set to be a four-team affair, including three foreign nations.

Mauritius (in picture) and St. Kitts were the two participants alongside India in the first edition of the event played last year.   -  Vivek Bendre

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) is set to host the Inter-Continental Champions Cup in June. The tournament will serve as preparation for the national team's 2019 Asian Cup campaign.

“We are planning to host the tournament in the first week of June,” AIFF general secretary, Kushal Das, confirmed to Sportstar. “We have written to many teams and are waiting for an official confirmation,” he added.

India had secured its berth at the Asian Cup in October last year.

The first edition, which was held in Mumbai in 2017, was played as a tri-nation tournament featuring Mauritius and St Kitts & Nevis. India won the tournament after defeating Mauritius 2-1 and securing a 1-1 draw against St Kitts & Nevis.

Four-team tourney

This edition is set to be a four-team affair, including host India and three foreign nations. Among the countries the AIFF has approached is 2010 FIFA World Cup host South Africa, and 78th ranked Uganda.

Read: Santosh Trophy - Karnataka reaches semis

“We have written to South Africa, New Zealand, Armenia, Hong Kong, Uganda and a few more teams. Uganda, Hong Kong, New Zealand and South Africa have expressed interest verbally, and a written confirmation is expected in the next 4-5 days,” he revealed.

Commenting on the possible venue for the tournament, Das said, “We have various options and will make a decision soon. We need to take into account the availability of training facilities, the venue and weather conditions at the time.”

Constantine to remain as coach

Will national coach Stephen Constantine continue to remain at the helm of the team given there are murmurs suggesting a rift between the coach and his players? Das remarked, “Constantine will remain as the coach. We recently renewed his contract and his tenure runs until 31st January.”

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :