Senior Women's National Football Championship to kick off on Tuesday

The 25th edition of the Hero Senior Women's National Football Championship will see 30 teams participate.

Manipur (in picture) was the winner of the 2018 edition of Hero Senior Women's National Football Championship.   -  AIFF Media

The 25th edition of the Hero Senior Women's National Football Championship will kick off at Pasighat in Arunachal Pradesh on Tuesday, September 10.

Four matches are scheduled on the opening day of the Women's Championship.

Defending champion Manipur, which is clubbed with West Bengal and Rajasthan in group G, kick-starts its campaign against West Bengal on Thursday, September 12.

29 state teams along with Railways are divided into eight groups in the preliminary round.

All groups have four teams each, barring Groups D and H, which have three teams each.

Eight group toppers will advance to the quarterfinals which will be followed by semifinals and final on September 24, 2019.

The groups:

Group A: Railways, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Mizoram

Group B: Haryana, Bihar, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh

Group C: Tamil Nadu, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh

Group D: Maharashtra, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh

Group E: Odisha, Kerala, Pondicherry, Chandigarh

Group F: Punjab, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand

Group G: Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura, West Bengal

Group H: Arunchal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Telangana

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos