Junior Girls' National C'ship: Manipur, Haryana move into quarterfinals

Manipur makes it three wins in a row with a 2-0 defeat of Tripura, while Haryana thrashed Arunachal Pradesh 8-0.

Published : Apr 24, 2019 20:23 IST

Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh in action on Wednesday. Photo: AIFF Media
Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh in action on Wednesday. Photo: AIFF Media

Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh in action on Wednesday. Photo: AIFF Media

Manipur and Haryana moved into the quarterfinals of the Hero Junior Girls' National Football Championship on Wednesday. With their entry, six teams have already booked their spots in the last-eight.

In Group A, Uttar Pradesh (UP) ensured a consolation win against Jammu & Kashmir (J&K). It defeated J&K 6-0. Neha Kumari, Ankita Poddar and Urvashi Sikarwar were among the goal-scorers for UP. Neha scored in the second minute, while Poddar scored twice - in the 31st minute and the 48th minute - before Sikarwar added one more, in the 82nd minute. There was also an own goal scored in the 33rd minute.

Read | U-17 Women's World Cup vital in rearing next generation of players, says Maymol Rocky

In Group B, Delhi defeated Madhya Pradesh to end its campaign with three points. Anaya Goyal put her side ahead in the 33rd minute, and after a see-saw battle, Delhi wrapped up the win through Aveka Singh who scored from the edge of the penalty box in the 73rd minute.

In Group C, Manipur defeated Tripura 2-0. Both goals were scored in the first half, through N. Sibani Devi (in the 10th minute), and S. Lynda Kom (in the 16th minute). In the other contest, Uttarakhand defeated Goa 1-0 to end its campaign on a high. Substitute Sakshi Negi scored the decisive goal in the 87th minute.

West Bengal bows out

In Group D, Haryana defeated Arunachal Pradesh 8-0. With the win, the team has now collected nine points. Raveena, the captain, was the pick of the scorers; she found the back of the net four times (first minute,  fifth minute, 54th minute, and 77th minute). Rajni Bala scored twice (in the 48th minute and the 64th minute). Ritu and Shital also scored — in the 45th minute and the 85th minute respectively.

West Bengal bowed out of the competition despite a 4-1 win over Karnataka. Arunabag scored in the 22nd and the 63rd minutes; Rupali Bauri scored in the 26th minute; and Piyali Roy scored in the 65th minute. Lekhasri V. G. grabbed a consolation for Karnataka nine minutes from time.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment