Hockey India names women’s squad for Tokyo Olympics test event

Sharmila Devi and Reena Khokhar have been named in the squad; they replace Sunita Lakra and Jyoti.

File Photo: Rani Rampal will continue to be the Indian captain.   -  K. MURALI KUMAR

Hockey India on Friday named an 18-member Indian women’s team for the Tokyo Olympics test event to be held in August, 2019.

The team is similar to the one that participated at the FIH Women’s Series Finals in Hiroshima. Chief coach Sjoerd Marijne opted for just two changes. Youngsters Sharmila Devi and Reena Khokhar were named in the team in place of Sunita Lakra and Jyoti.

Khokhar had been sidelined due to an injury but makes a comeback into the side after recovering successfully, while Sharmila will be expecting to make her debut for the national side. Striker Rani Rampal remained the captain while goalkeeper Savita has been named her deputy.

Read | Asian-style skills still relevant in modern hockey

The Indian team, currently No. 10 in the FIH Rankings, will be up against the likes of World No. 2 Australia, China (11th) and host Japan (14th).

The team consists of experienced goalkeepers Savita and Rajani Etimarpu while Deep Grace Ekka, Reena Khokhar, Gurjit Kaur, Salima Tete and Nisha will shoulder the defensive duties. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Nikki Pradhan, Monika, Lilima Minz and Neha Goyal will look to command the midfield. Rani, Navneet Kaur, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur and Sharmila Devi are the forwards who have been picked in the team.

‘Learning lessons’

“We are looking forward to playing three top countries at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 test event as I rate them all highly. We have selected a squad of 18 players where only 16 players will be allowed to play in accordance to the Olympic standards,” said Marijne.

“I will be very interested to see how we fare against these countries, and what we need to improve for the FIH Olympic Qualifiers because everything that we do will be focused on that. We will be learning good lessons in this tour regardless of whatever happens.”

The Team
  • Goalkeepers: Savita (vice captain), Rajani Etimarpu.
  • Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Reena Khokhar, Gurjit Kaur, Salima Tete, Nisha.
  • Midfielders: Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Nikki Pradhan, Monika, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal.
  • Forwards: Rani (captain), Navneet Kaur, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur, Sharmila Devi.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos