Railways makes winning start at women's hockey Nationals

Railways, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh start with wins on the opening day of the Women National Hockey Championship.

Nikki Pradhan scored a goal in Railways 12-0 win over Rajasthan (File Photo).   -  R.V.Moorthy

Defending champion Railways, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh were amongst the winning teams on the opening day of the 9th Women National Hockey Championship here on Friday. Railway Sports Promotion Board beat Rajasthan 12-0 in its first Pool A match.

Young striker Preeti Dubey (12’, 30’, 38’, 51) starred for her team for four goals, while Priyanka Wankhede (2’, 37’, 52’) and Navjot Kaur (47’, 48’, 59’) scored thrice and Sushila Chanu (4’), Nikki Pradhan (53’) scored a goal each.

In another Pool A match, Karnataka beat Odisha 3-0. P.A. Pavithra (28’), Nisha PC (34’) and Leelavathy Mallamada MJ (53) scored goals in the team’s fine victory.

In a Pool B match, Madhya Pradesh hammered Chhattisgarh 10-1. Karishma Singh (3’, 17’, 47’), Upasana Singh (6’), Narender Kaur (12’, 59’), Neelu Dadiya (22’), Anjali Gautam (25’, 26’), Pooja Rani (32’) scored goals in their team’s win while Balvinderkaur Mehra (53’) was the lone goal scorer for Chhattisgarh.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos