HI names 33 players for junior women’s national Camp

The players will report to coach Baljeet Singh Saini for the four-week national camp which will be held at SAI, Bengaluru from July 8 to August 3.

Representative Image   -  Biswaranjan Rout

Hockey India (HI) on Friday named a list of 33 core probables for the upcoming junior women’s national coaching camp scheduled to begin on July 8 at Sports Authority of India’s (SAI), Bengaluru.

Players will report to coach Baljeet Singh Saini for the four-week national camp which will conclude on August 3.

After having a great tour of Ireland, where the India team won the Cantor Fitzgerald U-21 International four-nation tournament against the likes of hosts Ireland, Canada and Scotland, coach Saini led the team to Belarus where they defeated the junior and development teams of the host nation, besides putting up a great fight against their senior women’s team.

READ | India women's team coach talks power of repetition, mental game

Saini believes that the tours of Ireland and Belarus have motivated the team to become the best junior team in the world.

“The team performed exceptionally in the recent tours of Ireland and Belarus. I am very satisfied with the way they played. The national camp will now give us the opportunity to keep working in the right direction. There are a few players who have made the transition into the senior team set—up, therefore this camp will give the opportunity to more players to perform and be a part of our team,” said Saini.

“Our focus in the upcoming camp will be on the basics —— fitness, agility and trying out different tactics. It is important that we maintain our rhythm in these four weeks, and keep building towards our ultimate aim which is to win the junior women’s Asia Cup next year,” Saini added.

The probables:

Goalkeepers: Rashanpreet Kaur, Khushboo, F. Ramengmawii

Defenders: Priyanka, Simran Singh, Marina Lalramnghaki, Gagandeep Kaur, Ishika Chaudhary, Jotika Kalsi, Sumita, Akshata Dhekale, Usha, Parneet Kaur

Midfielders: Baljeet Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Kiran, Prabhleen Kaur, Preeti, Ajmina Kujur, Vaishnavi Phalke, Kavita Bagdi, Baljinder Kaur, Sushma Kumari

Forwards: Mumtaz Khan, Beauty Dungdung, Gurmail Kaur, Deepika, Lalrindinki, Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Rutuja Pisal, Sangita Kumar, Yogita Bora, Annu


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :