Tokyo Paralympics 2020 Day 6 Updates: Sumit Antil wins javelin final; Avani Lekhara wins gold in shooting; Yogesh Kathuniya wins silver in discus throw

Tokyo Paralympics 2020: Catch all the updates with Indian athletes in action on Day 6 (August 30) of the Paralympics.

Avani Lekhara of Team India poses with her gold medal after winning the R2 - Women's 10m AR Standing SH1.   -  Getty Images

Welcome to Sportstar's LIVE coverage of Indian athletes in action and all the major events on Day 6 at the Tokyo Paralympics.



Tokyo Paralympics: Avani Lekhara wins gold medal in shooting  

Devendra Jhajharia, Sundar Singh Gurjar win silver and bronze in javelin at Tokyo Paralympics  

Tokyo Paralympics 2020: Yogesh Kathuniya wins silver in discus throw

Sumit wins javelin throw gold at Tokyo Paralympics  

Shooting: Swaroop Unhalkar finished 4th in R1 - Men’s 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1 final




Sumit's (F64) first throw of 66.95m is a World Record! Sandeep's (F44) first throw is of 61.13. Sumit and Sandeep are No. 1 and 3 after their respective first attempts. Sumit throws 68.08 in his second attempt. Sandeep wasn't satisfied with his second attempt, steps out of the line. All 10 athletes have finished two throws each. Sumit continues to top the tally, Sandeep has slipped to fourth place.

Sumit throws 65.27 in his third attempt. Sandeep throws 62.20 in his third attempt. Three attempts out of the way for all 10 athletes. Sumit holding on to the top spot. Sandeep is placed fourth.

Sandeep fouls his fourth attempt. Sumit meanwhile, consolidating his place at the top of the rankings with yet another impressive throw - 66.71m. Sumit throws 68.55 in his fifth attempt. Meanwhile, Sandeep fouls again. Sandeep throws 62.03 in his sixth attempt. Sumit fouls his sixth attempt.  Doesn't matter! He wins gold. India's second gold medal of the day.

Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit Antil in men's javelin throw F64

JUST IN: Vinod Kumar's bronze medal in men's discus throw F52 will not stand. He is designated as "Classification not Completed" and results of the competition are void.


Men’s 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1

  • Swaroop slips to fourth place after shooting 9.9 and 9.5 in his 17th and 18th attempts.  He is now out of medal contention.
  • Swaroop cruises to the top spot with 10.7 and 10.5 from his 15th and 16th shots respectively.
  • Swaroop Mahavir is placed second after his first 10 shots. The eliminations will get underway.


Yogesh Kathuniya- Men's Discus Throw Final (Class F56)

  • Brazil's Claudiney Batista overtakes Khatuniya with a throw of 45.59m and takes gold. He improves on his Paralympic Record throw of Rio 2016.
  • Kathuniya grabs silver, while Cuba's Leonardo Diaz Aldana bags bronze with 43.36 m.
  • Kathuniya still leads after six out of eight competitors finish their throws.
  • Leonardo Diaz Aldana from Cuba is second, with a best of 43.36m.
  • Kathuniya leads with a season-best throw of 44.38m.
  • He registers throws of 42.84m, 43.55m, and 44.38m in his second, fifth and sixth throws, respectively.

Devendra Jhajharia, Sundar Singh Gurjar, Ajeet Singh Yadav - Men's Javelin Final (F46)

  • Jhajharia takes silver and Gurjar bags bronze.
  • While Jhajharia breaks his personal best with 64.35m in his third throw, Dinesh Priyan of Sri Lanka breaks Jhajharia's world record of 63.97m with a huge 67.79m-throw.
  • Pos. after Attempt 2: Gurjard 2nd, Jhajharia 4th, Ajeet Singh 8th
  • Ajeet Singh throws a foul in his second attempt.
  • Jhajharia improves marginally, registering 60.62m in his second throw.
  • Gurjar manages 60.2m in his second attempt, failing to improve on his first throw.
  • After all nine finalists complete their first throws, Gurjar is placed second, Jhajaria is on fourth position, while Ajeet Singh is placed seventh.
  • Ajeet Singh Yadav settles for 56.15m in his first go with the spear.
  • World-record holder Jhajharia throws 60.28m in his first attempt.
  • Gurjar registers 62.26m in his first throw.


Avani Lekhara Women's 10m Air Rifle Standing Final - SH 1

  • Avani Lekhara wins gold, equalling the world record with a score of 249.6.

Avani Lekhara Women's 10m Air Rifle Standing Qualification - SH 1

  • Lekhara qualifies seventh for the final with a total of 621.7. The top 8 in the qualification move to the final.
  • China's Cuiping Zhang tops the qualification with 626.0.
  • Stuck in her fifth series at 40.1, Lekhara slips to eighth position with a total of 455.6.

Indians in action on August 30 (Timings in IST):

5:00 a.m. - Shooting - R2 - Women's 10m Air Rifle Standing Qualification - Avani Lekhara (Sport Class SH1)

6:05 a.m. - Discus - Men's Discus Throw final - Yogesh Kathuniya (Sport Class F56)

7:15 a.m. - Shooting - R1 - Men's 10m Air rifle Standing Qualification - Deepak, Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar  (Sport Class SH1)

7:33 a.m. - Javelin Throw - Men's Javelin Throw final - Sundar Singh Gurjar, Devendra, Ajeet Singh Yadav (Sport Class F46)

3:30 p.m. - Javelin Throw - Men's Javelin Throw final - Sumit Antil, Sandeep Chaudhary (Sport Class F64)



READ: Tokyo Paralympics Know your sport: Swimming, shooting, archery and powerlifting

READ: Tokyo Paralympics Know Your Sport: Badminton, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Canoeing

READ: Tokyo Paralympics Know Your Sport: Athletics, classifications and Indians in action


  • When will Indian athletes play at the Tokyo Paralympics?
    Events of Indian interest at Tokyo Paralympics will begin at 5:00 AM IST on August 30, 2021.
  • Where to watch Indian events at Tokyo Paralympics?
    The Tokyo Paralympics can be watched in India live on Eurosport and Doordarshan. It can also be streamed online through official channel of Prasar Bharati sports and DD National on Youtube.