Indian Terrain cycling: Meherzad, Lakshmi pedal to victory

Meherzad Irani and Lakshmi Thangadurai triumphed in the fourth leg of the Indian Terrain Champion Sportive Series, an eight-city amateur cycling championship.

Winner Lakshmi Thangadurai (cente) flanked by Nandhini Sharma (left) and Swati Sablok.

Meherzad Irani (two hours, 30 minutes) and Lakshmi Thangadurai (three hours, nine minutes) finished ahead of the pack in men’s and women’s categories respectively in the Mumbai leg of the eight-city amateur cycling championship, called at the Indian Terrain Champion Sportive Series.

The fourth leg, called the Seven Islands Sportive, attracted 160 riders, covering a 92-kilometre course starting and ending at Hotel Bawa International, Juhu.

Meherzad was followed home by Dhiren Bontra (two hours, 31 minutes) and Akshay Moye (two hours, 31 minutes) in the next two places. Women’s champion Lakshmi Thangadurai  finished ahead of Swati Sablok (three hours, 27 minutes) and Nandhini Sharma (3 hours, 44 minutes) in the second and third places respectively.

Pune will host the next leg on September 24. The first three cyclists (men and women) from each city will ride at the Champions Sportive Series–Grand Finale in New Delhi. The cycling competition is organised by Indian Terrain Fashions Limited and

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.