July 11, Indian sports news wrap: Amandeep finishes T-37 at Estrella Damm Ladies Open

July 11 sports wrap: Here are all the major developments in Indian sports on Monday.

Published : Jul 11, 2022 12:35 IST

FILE PHOTO: Amandeep Drall finished a modest T-37 at the Estrella Damm Ladies Open.
FILE PHOTO: Amandeep Drall finished a modest T-37 at the Estrella Damm Ladies Open. | Photo Credit: SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

FILE PHOTO: Amandeep Drall finished a modest T-37 at the Estrella Damm Ladies Open. | Photo Credit: SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT


Amandeep ends 37th in Spain, Ciganda wins title by 2 shots

Indian golfer Amandeep Drall could not make up for the two bogeys and a double in her first eight holes as she carded a disappointing 1-over 73 in the final round to finish a modest T-37 at the Estrella Damm Ladies Open.

Amandeep finished with an even par 288 for four days, while her compatriot Vani Kapoor had an even par 72 and finished at 3-over 291 and T-50.

The other Indians in the field Diksha Dagar, Tvesa Malik, Neha Tripathi and Ridhima Dilawari had missed the cut.

Local star Carlota Ciganda completed a wire-to-wire victory for her sixth LET title at Club de Golf Terramar.


Atwal finishes T-63 as Mullinax wins Barbasol

India’s Arjun Atwal had a birdie and a bogey on either side of the Keene Trace Golf Club course on a final day when he played 29 holes, 11 of them from the previous round, to finish T-63 at the Barbasol Championship.

Atwal shot 73-70 in the final two rounds for a total of 7-under 281. He closed his final round on Par-3 ninth with a chip-in for the second time in the week.

“It is tiring but good to get in two weeks of play,” said Atwal, who missed quite a few short putts during the week.

The 49-year-old is also in the field for the Barracuda Championship next week.

Meanwhile, Trey Mullinax birdied the 72nd hole to win the title by a single stroke.

The event was co-sanctioned by the DP World Tour and PGA TOUR and he now receives exemptions on both the Tours.



Devika, Abhiwardhan shine in Maharashtra domination

Reigning junior national champion Devika Ghorpade and Abhiwardhan Sharma showed their mettle as Maharashtra’s seven pugilists, including five women, entered the finals of the Youth National Boxing Championships in Chennai on Monday.

Haryana’s women’s team and Services Sports Control Boards’ (SSCB) men’s team continued their brilliant show with 11 boxers progressing to the finals.

Devika (52kg) extended her fine form and started the proceedings for Maharashtra on a great note against Punjab’s Kuldeep Kaur. Her relentless attack forced the referee to stop the contest in the second round and give the result in her favour. She will fight against Haryana’s Anjali in the final.

In the 57kg feather weight category, Aarya Bartakke got the better of Rajasthan’s Anju in a thrilling contest. Both the boxers threw caution to the wind and traded heavy blows throughout the bout but Aarya showcased great composure and skills to prevail over her opponent by a 4-1 split verdict.

She will face Mizoram’s Naom Chingsanuami in the summit clash.

Sharvari Kalyankar (75kg), Nasweera Mujawar (81kg) and Kanchan Suranse (81+kg) were the other women boxers from Maharashtra to enter the final. They will face Haryana’s Muskan, Pranjal and Kirti respectively in their gold medal matches.

In the men’s section, Maharashtra’s Abhiwardhan (92kg) blanked Rishabh Pandey of Uttar Pradesh 5-0 in a one-sided affair. He will square off against Asian junior champion Bharat Joon of Haryana in the final.

The other male boxer from Maharashtra to reach the final was Usman Ansari (51kg), who defeated Uttarakhand’s Vishwas Mehra 5-0. He will take on SSCB’s Jadumani Mandengbam in the final.

Delhi’s Sanjana (48kg) and Shivani (70kg) also progressed to the finals after getting the better of Himachal Pradesh’s Priya and Rajasthan’s Sanjana respectively by identical 5-0 margin.

Anand Yadav (57kg), Adarsh Katare (60kg) and Aman Singh (92+kg) are the other Madhya Pradesh boxers to reach the finals.

Punjab’s Tejaswi Vashisht also emerged victorious on the fifth day of the competition as he defeated Ayush Yadav of Manipur in a 4-1 split verdict in the men’s 75kg semi-finals.


Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment