The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League is almost upon us. Ten teams, instead of the usual eight, will bid to win the tournament from this season. The league phase of the competition will be played from March 26 to May 22 with Mumbai, New Mumbai and Pune as the venues. The schedule for the playoffs and the final (May 29) will be announced later. In all a total number of 70 league matches plus four playoff games will be played in 65 days. The Wankhede Stadium in South Mumbai and the D. Y. Patil Stadium in New Mumbai will host 20 matches each, while the Brabourne Stadium in South Mumbai and the MCA International Stadium in Pune will host 15 games each.

Ahead of the competition, let us take a look at some interesting statistics of the IPL.

The results


* in April 2014, the first 20 games were held in UAE and the rest in India.

*in Sept-Oct 2020, the entire tournament of 60 matches was held in the UAE.

*in 2021, the first half of 29 matches were played from April to May in India and the remaining 31 games were played in the UAE in Sept-Oct.

Delhi Daredevils (DD) from 2008 to 2018 is currently known as Delhi Capitals (DCp) since 2019. DCh is the erstwhile Deccan Chargers.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) from 2008 to 2020 is currently known as Punjab Kings (PBKS) since 2021.

Title winners


Highest team totals


Lowest team totals


Highest individual scores (Total: 67 centuries)


Most individual 100s


Fastest individual 50s


Fastest individual 100s


Leading run-getters in a career


Batter with most runs in a single season


Best bowling figures in an innings (23 five-wicket hauls in all)


Leading wicket-takers in a career


Bowling hat-tricks: (20 by 17 bowlers): Amit Mishra has done it on three occasions and Yuvraj Singh twice.


Bowler with most wickets in a single season


Best performance by a wicketkeeper in a match

Note: 13 others have claimed four dismissals on 18 occasions, with Dinesh Kartik doing it on three occasions. M. S. Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha and Quinton de Kock have done it twice.


Most dismissals by a wicketkeeper in a career


Most dismissals by a wicketkeeper in a season


Most catches by a fielder in a match


Most catches by a fielder in a career


Most catches by a fielder in a season


Players appearing in most matches


Most matches as captain



CSK – Chennai Super Kings; MI – Mumbai Indians; KKR – Kolkata Knight Riders; DCp – Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils); SRH – Sunrisers Hyderabad; RCB – Royal Challengers Bangalore; PBKS – Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab); RR – Rajasthan Royals; DCh – Deccan Chargers; KTK – Kochi Tuskers Kerala; PWI – Pune Warriors India; RPS – Rising Pune Supergiants; GL – Gujarat Lions.