Annu Rani of Uttar Pradesh hogged the limelight on the final day of the National inter-State athletics meet at the GMC Balayogi Stadium with a new National record in women’s javelin (59.87), but still fell short of the Olympic qualifying mark of 62m here on Saturday. The 22-year-old broke her own record of 58.83m.

“My first target was making the cut for the Rio Olympics. That way, I am not really happy but it is okay to have a National record,” the Asian Games bronze medallist said.

Annu Rani’s fourth attempt saw her achieve the National record but she complained of the wind factor. “If the event was held from the opposite end, may be it would have been a different story,” she said. “However, I am really confident of making it to Rio in the Indian Grand Prix in Bengaluru next week.”

The focus on the final day was also on National record holder Dharmbir Singh in the men’s 200m but he had a disappointing finish on the track despite winning the gold, clocking 20.90s. The Olympic qualifying mark in this event is 20.50s.

“I think the wear and tear on the track, which is obviously old, did not help my cause. However much force I was applying to get acceleration on it, I felt being pulled back,” said Dharmbir, who now flies to Thailand for one last chance to qualify for the Rio Games. The 25-year-old Haryana athlete confessed it was not the kind of showing he was looking for.

For the host, there was something to cheer on the last day when Amit Kumar won the men’s javelin gold with an effort of 70.14m.

The men’s relay team of K. Muhammed, Muhammed Anas, A. Dharun and Arokia Rajiv clocked 3:03.31 today when they were expected to clock 3:03.34. However, they improved from 21st position to 17th in relay rankings after this evening’s show.

The women’s relay team comprising Anilda Thomas, Tintu Luka, M. R. Poovamma and S. Nirmala clocked 3:29.04 to move from 13th to 12th in relay rankings.

The results (finals):

Women:Javelin: 1. Annu Rani (UP) 59.87m; 2. Suman Devi (UP) 55.88; 3. Sarmila Kumari (Har) 53.80.

High jump: 1. Sahana Kumari (Kar) 1.79m; 2. Angel P Devasia (Ker) 1.73; 3. Vinotha (TN) 1.60.

1500m: 1. Gomathi (TN) 4:22.42; 2. P. U. Chitra (Ker) 4:24.47; 3. Sugandha Kumari (WB) 4:25.54.

200m: 1. V. S. Santini (Guj) 23.88; 2. Reena George (TN) 24.25; 3. Archana (TN) 24.74.

5000m: 1. L. Suriya (TN) 15:59.60; 2. Swati Gadhave (Mah) 16:08.03; 3. Sanjivani Jadhav (Mah) 16:47.80.

4x400m relay: 1. India-A (S. Nirmala, M. R. Poovamma, Tintu Luka, Anilda Thomas) 3:29.04s; 2. India-B (Jisna Mathew, A. Ashwini, R. Anu, Debshree Majumda) 3:32.45; 3. India-C (Jauna Murmu, Sini Jose, Priyanka Panwar, Soundarya) 3:34.94.

Men: 200m: 1. Dharmbir Singh (Har) 20.90s; 2. Sanjeet (Har) 21.04; 3. Manikanda Arun (TN) 21.69.

Javelin: 1. Amit Kumar (AP) 70.14; 2, Ravinder Singh (Pun) 78.11; 3. Vipin Kasana (Pun) 78.11.

1500m: 1. Siddhant Adhikar (Asm) 3:54.64; 2. Sandeep (Har) 3:54.94; 3. Rahul (Del) 3:56.01.

10,000m: 1. Lakshmanan (TN) 29:38.49; 2. Kheta Ram (Raj) 29:57.54; 3. T. Gopi (Utk) 30:37.69.

4x400m relay: India-A (A. Dharun, Muhammed Anas, Arokia Rajiv, Kunnhi Muhammed) 3:03.71; India-B (Sumit Malik, Jitin Paul, Lalit Mathur, Mohan Kumar) 3:05.93; 3. India-C (N. Nirmal, S. Sauvit, Pankaj Malik, K. Nagaraj) 3:12.46.

Overall championship: 1. Kerala 164 pts, 2. Tamil Nadu 150.

Men: 1. Kerala 68, 2. Haryana 62; Women: 1. Kerala 96, 2. Tamil Nadu 92.

Best athletes: Men: Jithin Paul (Ker, 400m hurdles); Women: Nirmala (Har, 400m).