Poznan Athletics Grand Prix: Gold for Hima, bronze for Vismaya

V.K. Vismaya recorded her personal best of 23.75s in the 200m, while Hima Das clocked 23.65s to her gold medal in the women’s 200m gold at Poznan.

Hima Das (C), who has a personal best of 23.10s, clocked 23.65s on her way to the gold medal. (File Photo)   -  PTI

Indian star sprinter Hima Das, who had been struggling with a back injury in the last few meets, won the women’s 200m gold in the Poznan Athletics Grand Prix at Poznan, Poland, on Tuesday night.

The Under-20 quartermile champion, who has a personal best of 23.10s, clocked 23.65s on her way to the gold medal. Hima's teammate V.K. Vismaya pipped Iga Baumgart-Witan, who had helped Poland to the 4x400m relay bronze at the 2017 London Worlds, to finish third with a personal best 23.75s. Vismaya had clocked a personal best in the 400m a few days ago.

Anas, Jeevan and Tajinder third

Muhammed Anas, the 400m national record holder, was third in the men’s 200m with a season-best 20.75s while Nirmal Noah Tom was fifth in a personal best 21.30s and Mohan Kumar did not finish the event. South African Thando Dlodlo won the gold in 20.60s.

Meanwhile, K.S. Jeevan won the men’s 400m bronze in a mediocre 47.25s while Kunhu Muhammed was fifth (47.48).

With M. R. Poovamma pulling out of the women’s main 400m race, the attention was on the event’s race ‘B’ which was an all-India affair. Sarita  Ben Gayakwad topped the race with a time of 54.21s while R. Vithya (54.33) and V. Subha (54.35) clocked personal bests while taking the next two spots with V.K. Shalini finishing fourth in 56.14. Sarita was fifth overall with Cuban Roxana Gomez winning the gold in 52.24s.

Asian champion Tajinder Pal Singh Toor took the men’s shot put bronze with a fourth round effort of 19.62m while the host’s Michal Haratyk, the European champion, walked away with the gold with 21.26m.

The results (events featuring Indians):

Men: 200m: 1. Thando Dlodlo (RSA, 20.60s), 3. Muhammed Anas (20.75), 5. Nirmal Noah Tom (21.30), Mohan Kumar (DNF).

400m: 1. Rafal Omelko (Pol, 46.92s), 3. K.S. Jeevan (47.25), 5. Kunhu Muhammed (47.48).

Shot put: 1. Michal Haratyk (Pol, 21.26m), 3. Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (19.62).

Women: 200m: 1. Hima Das (23.65s), 3. V.K. Vismaya (23.75), 6. Sonia Baishya (24.50).

400m (overall after races ‘A’ and ‘B’: 1. Roxana Gomez (Cub, 52.24s), 5. Sarita Ben (54.21), 6. R. Vithya (54.33), 7. V. Subha (54.35), 9. V.K. Shalini (56.14).


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :