Indian Grand Prix: Arpinder nowhere near best, Dutee runs race of three

Triple jumper Arpinder Singh jumped 16.83m, almost a half metre from his best, at the Indian Grand Prix which saw few competitors across disciplines.

Dutee Chand (Centre) in the 100m dash at the Indian Grand Prix at Patiala on Thursday.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Arpinder Singh was unrecognisable to even his coach, Dutee Chand ran a three-legged race and Archana Suseendran had a false start. The three were among those the Athletics Federation of India was banking on to increase the size of its contingent for the World Championships at the final qualifying event here on Thursday.

The sixth leg of the Indian Grand Prix, though, was even more disappointing than last week. Except for the men’s javelin throw, most disciplines barely had enough participants to even qualify for competition. The women’s 200m had four – two did not start and Archana fouled, leaving Anjali Devi to run a solo race!

The women’s 100m had five, with two DNS. In 400m, Saritaben Gayakwad pulled up halfway through in a field of four. Javelin had only two. Men’s 400m, 1500m, 3000m Steeplechase – included in the original AFI circular – were dropped.

In triple jump, coach Antony Yaich was blunt enough to say he didn’t recognise Arpinder. “In testing through the weekend, he was fantastic. Yesterday and today, he was horrible. I have no idea what happened. I think it is in the mind but we cannot say anything right now. I think he needs a break and go home, away from all of it and then come back hungrier for performance,” Yaich said. Arpinder’s best was a 16.35m, almost half a metre short of even his performance (16.83m) last week!

READ | AFI eyeing more Worlds spots at sixth leg of Indian Grand Prix

Murali Sreeshankar won the long jump with 7.79m.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT


Murali Sreeshankar though stayed true to his recent form with a 7.79m jump but the surprise was Sahil Mahabali from Haryana, who jumped the same but had two fouls to push him to second spot. “Actually we are not trying to reach a particular mark here, just trying to stay in the 7.80-7.90 range and figure out the technical issues instead. So it was a decently satisfying outing,” Sreeshankar said.

In the process, the entire focus was on the men’s 4x400m relay side that had made a mockery the process last week. With Alex Anthony not yet recovered from a pulled hamstring, KS Jeeven replaced him in the squad but was the weakest link in the quartet. The team clocked 3:03.68 but stayed on course for the Worlds but what would concern the AFI would be the individual timings of the side with the riddle of relay squad composition nowhere near resolution when the AFI selection committee meets on September 9.


The results


100m: 1. Kush Kumar (11.48s), 2. Abhishek Chaudhary (11.67s), 3. Nikhil Rahangdale (12.19s); 200m: 1. Gajanan Mistry (21.77s), 2. Sarthak Bhambri (22.05s), 3. Nikhil Rahangdale (25.72s); 4x400m relay: 1. India B (3:03.68), 2. AFI Team A (3:10.55), 3. Sri Lanka (3:13.08); Shot Put: 1. Inderjeet Singh (19.53m), 2. Jasdeep Dhillon (18.10m), 3. Devinder Singh (17.44m); Long Jump: 1. M. Sreeshankar (7.79m), 2. Sahil Mahabali (7.79m), 3. Samit Singh (7.51m); Pole Vault: 1. Prashant Kumar Kanhaiya (4.90m), 2. Dhirendra Kumar (4.60m), 3. Gourav (4.50m); Triple Jump: 1. Karthik U (16.69m), 2. Arpinder Singh (16.35m), 3. Mohd. Salahuddin (16.33m); Javelin Throw: 1. Rajender (78.67m), 2. Davinder Singh Kang (78.37m), 3. Yashvir Singh (76.19m)


100m: 1. Dutee Chand (11.43s), 2. Jilna MV (11.77s), 3. Indi Prasad (12.56s); 200m: Anjali Devi (23.44s), 2. Archana Suseendran (FS); 400m: 1. Revathi V (53.63s), 2. Aishwarya Mishra (54.72s), 3. Payal Vohra (57.51s); 1500m: 1. Lili Das (4:19.77), 2. WKL Arachchi Nimali (4:25.86), 3. KM Deeksha (4:46.89); 3000mSC: 1. Sudha Singh (10:00.66), 2. Chinta Yadav (11:11.67), 3. Preenu Yadav (11:32.63); Long Jump: 1. Mareena George (6.01m), 2. Sowmiya Murugan (5.91m), Sonu Kumari (5.68m); Shot Put: 1. Abha Khatua (16.01m), 2. Navjeet Dhillon (15.71m), 3. Tunlai Narzary (13.54m); Javelin Throw: 1. Sharmila Kumari (50.40m), 2. KM Saloni (46.78m).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :