Jyothi, Ajay and Abdulla strike gold in Asian Athletics Championships

Decathlete Tejaswin Shankar and quartermiler Aishwarya Mishra bring bronze on day two.

Published : Jul 13, 2023 21:10 IST , KOCHI - 3 MINS READ

File image of Jyothi Yarraji.
File image of Jyothi Yarraji. | Photo Credit: RITU RAJ KONWAR / The Hindu

File image of Jyothi Yarraji. | Photo Credit: RITU RAJ KONWAR / The Hindu

Ajay Kumar Saroj was caught in a box for a good part of the men’s 1500m final at the 25 th Asian Athletics Championships in Bangkok on Thursday.

The 2017 Asian champion was stuck in the inner lane with runners surrounding him, nine of them in front including Qatar’s Mohamed al Garni who began as the event’s top seed.

But the 26-year-old from Uttar Pradesh made his move on the final corner, moving away and climbing to third, and produced a fine finish to complete a hat-trick of Asian Championships medals. He had won a silver at the last edition, in Doha 2019.

READ | Jyothi Yarraji: No hurdle too big for Indian athletics’ new sensation

“Towards the end, I knew the athletes ahead of me were getting tired and I was able to focus on the finish and win,” said Ajay.

After a quiet opening day, India won three golds on the second day with Jyothi Yarraji bringing the country’s first-ever women’s 100m hurdles title at the Asians and Commonwealth Games silver medallist Abdulla Aboobacker winning the men’s triple jump gold with a season-best of 16.92m which came in the fourth round.

Jyothi did not have a great start but she was superior in the second half of the race. The 23-year-old from Visakhapatnam overcame rain and a strong challenge from Japan’s seasoned Asuka Terada and Masumi Aoki for a memorable victory.

India also won two bronze medals through decathlete Tejaswin Shankar – the national high jump record holder was making his debut in the multi-eventer in a major championship – and female quartermiler Aishwarya Mishra.

READ | Sprinter Archana Suseendran suspended for 18 months

The results (medallists and Indian performances):

Men: 400m: 1. Sato Kentaro (Jpn) 45.00s, 2. Fuga Sato (Jpn) 45.13, 3. Yousef Ahmed Masrahi (KSA) 45.19, 4. Muhammed Ajmal (Ind) 45.36, 6. Rajesh Ramesh (Ind) 45.67y.

1500m: 1. Ajay Kumar Saroj (Ind) 3:41.51s, 2. Yusuke Takahashi (Jpn) 3:42.04, 3. Liu Dezhu (Chn) 3:42.30, 11. Jinson Johnson (Ind) 3:46.91.

Triple jump: 1. Abdulla Aboobacker (Ind) 16.92m, 2. Hikaru Ikehata (Jpn) 16.73, 3. Kim Jangwoo (Kor) 16.59.

Hammer throw: 1. Qi Wang (Chn) 72.13m, 2. Sukhrob Khodjaev (Uzb) 71.83, 3. Shota Fukuda (Jpn) 71.80.

Decathlon: 1. Yuma Maruyama (Jpn) 7745 pts, 2. Suttisak Singkhon (Tha) 7626, 3. Tejaswin Shankar (Ind) 7527.

Women: 400m: 1. Nadeesha Ramanayaka (Sri) 52.61s, 2. Farida Solieva (Uzb) 52.95, 3. Aishwarya Mishra (Ind) 53.07.

10,000: 1. Haruka Kokai (Jpn) 32:59.36s, 2. Momoka Kawaguchi (Jpn) 33:18.72, 3. Bayartsogt Munkhzaya (Mgl) 33:24.79, 4. Sanjivani Jadhav (Ind) 34:04.47.

100m hurdles: 1. Jyothi Yarraji (Ind) 13.09s, 2. Asuka Terrada (Jpn) 13.13, 3. Masumi Aoki (Jpn) 13.26, 4. Nithya Ramaraj (Ind) 13.55.

High jump: 1. Kristina Ovchinnikova (Kaz) 1.86m, 2. Matvayeva (Kaz) 1.86, 3. Svetlana Radzivil (Uzb) 1.83, 7. Pooja (Ind) & Rubina Yadav (Ind) both 1.75.

Hammer throw: 1. Zhao Jie (Chn) 69.39m, 2. Joy Mcarthar (Jpn) 66.56, 3. Raika Murakami (Jpn) 64.17.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment