All you need to know about Cleveland Cavaliers and Golden State Warriors

Golden State is the first team in NBA history to win its first 12 games in a post-season.

Cavaliers in 2016 became the first team to rally from a 3-1 NBA Finals deficit and win the title, which was the first in franchise history.   -  AP

The NBA final series between the Golden State Warriors and Cleveland Cavaliers marks the first time in NBA history that the same teams are meeting in the Finals for the third consecutive seasons. With both teams having won one title each, the Finals is expected to go down the wire.

READ: Cavaliers-Warriors set to re-ignite rivalry

Here’s everything you need to know about the Eastern and Western Conference champions.

Cleveland Cavaliers

NBA titles: One (2016)

The franchise joined the National Basketball Association in 1970 as an expansion team along with the Buffalo Braves and Portland Trail Blazers

The NBA instituted what is commonly known as the “Stepien Rule,” forbidding teams from trading their first-round draft picks in successive years, due to Ted Stepien's propensity for trading away high draft picks during a disastrous three-year tenure as owner of the Cavaliers in the early 1980s.

Cleveland was on the wrong end of “The Shot,” the name of a famed series-winning basket hit by Michael Jordan in the 1989 Eastern Conference quarter-finals that is one of the most replayed NBA plays in history.

Franchise had a 26-game losing streak during the 2010-11 NBA season that tied the record for longest losing streak in major North American professional sports.

The team used the first pick in the 2003 NBA Draft to select native Ohioan LeBron James, who averaged 20.9 points, 5.5 rebounds and 5.9 assists per game just out of high school in his debut campaign and was named the league's Rookie of the Year.

James eventually led the Cavaliers to five consecutive play-off berths, including a trip to the NBA Finals in 2007, but he infamously left Cleveland as a free agent in 2010 to sign with the Miami Heat, where he went on to win two championships.

Cleveland was the first team to draft a Canadian player with the first overall draft pick when it selected Anthony Bennett in 2013.

James rejoined the Cavaliers in 2014 determined to bring a championship to his home state and brought the team back to relevance after four consecutive losing seasons.

Cavaliers in 2016 became the first team to rally from a 3-1 NBA Finals deficit and win the title, which was the first in franchise history.

2016-17 regular season record: 51-31, fifth overall

Path to Finals: Won Central Division; beat Indiana 4-0 in Eastern Conference quarter-finals; beat Toronto 4-0 in conference semi-finals; beat Boston 4-1 in conference final.

Golden State Warriors

NBA titles: Three (1956, 1975, 2015)

The franchise was founded in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors, a charter member of the Basketball Association of America.

Won a championship in the inaugural season of the BAA, a league that would eventually become the National Basketball Association after its third season.

Captured its second championship in Philadelphia in the 1955-56 season during an era that included future Basketball Hall of Famers Paul Arizin, Tom Gola and Neil Johnston.

In 1959, the Warriors signed draft pick Wilt Chamberlain. Known as “Wilt the Stilt,” the athletic, 7-foot-1 Chamberlain led the league in scoring his first seven seasons, shattering NBA scoring records and changing the NBA style of play forever.

Chamberlain, who went on to earn a spot in the Hall of Fame, scored a record 100 points for Philadelphia during a 1962 game against the New York Knicks.

Relocated to San Francisco in 1962 and were renamed as the San Francisco Warriors

In 1971, the Warriors moved across San Francisco Bay to Oakland, and changed its geographic name to Golden State to symbolize the entire state of California.

Won its first NBA title on the West Coast in 1975 when they pulled off a major upset by sweeping the heavily favoured Washington Bullets in four games.

Warriors finished the 2015-16 regular season with a 73-19 record, eclipsing the previous mark (72-10) set by Michael Jordan's Chicago Bulls during the 1995-96 season.

Starting point guard Stephen Curry emerged as one of the game's most gifted shooters of all-time and is the NBA's two-time reigning Most Valuable Player.

Head coach: Steve Kerr. A five-time NBA champion as a player, Kerr in 2015 became the first rookie coach to win an NBA title since the Los Angeles Lakers' Pat Riley in 1982.

In 2017 the Warriors became the first post-season team to enter the Finals undefeated (12-0) since the NBA went to the current playoff format in 2003.

2016-17 regular season record: 67-15, first overall

Path to Finals: Won Pacific Division; Beat Portland 4-0 in Western Conference quarter-finals; beat Utah 4-0 in conference semi-finals; beat San Antonio 4-0 in conference final.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :