Duleep Trophy 2022: North Zone squad announced; Mandeep Singh named captain

North Zone announced a 15-member squad for the Duleep Trophy, which begins on September 8.

Published : Aug 25, 2022 21:01 IST

FILE PHOTO: Mandeep Singh in action.
FILE PHOTO: Mandeep Singh in action. | Photo Credit: THE HINDU

FILE PHOTO: Mandeep Singh in action. | Photo Credit: THE HINDU

Mandeep Singh wil lead a 15-member North Zone squad in the 2022 Duleep Trophy, starting September 8. Dhruv Shorey was named vice-captain of the side.

North Zone: Yash Dhull, Dhruv Shorey (vc), Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh (c), Himanshu Rana, Akash Vasisht, Anmol Malhotra, Mayank Dagar, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Siddarth Kaul, Jagjit Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Qamran Iqbal, Vikas Mishra.
Standby players: Amit Rana, Ankit Kalsi, Fazil Rashid, Baltej Singh, Raj Angad Bawa, Abdul Samad.

The Duleep Trophy will kickstart the men’s domestic season, which will also see the return of the Irani Cup. The Duleep Trophy will be contested between six zones (North, South, Central, West, East and Northeast) on a knockout basis.

All matches will be held in Tamil Nadu between September 8-25. The first match will take place in Chennai while Coimbatore will host the final, starting September 21.

The Duleep Trophy has been reintroduced after a three-season gap. The addition of the North-East zone means it will be a six-team knockout tournament that will kick off the senior men’s domestic season. The Duleep Trophy was last held in the 2019-20 season in Bengaluru.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment